Easy Sweet Potatoes with Kahlua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We all enjoy Kahlua, so I was very excited to try this for Christmas dinner. The Kahlua killed it and was not at all complementary in taste with the sweet potatoes. The flavors simply did not blend well together at all. This may have tasted better with less Kahlua used as an accent flavor to the sweet potatoes, but the recipe as written creates a clash of flavors each attempting to claim the dish. If making this recipe, I would suggest adding the Kahlua in small doses a little at a time until a nice flavor has been reached. This was the only dish that everyone turned down when it was time to pack left-overs and send them home with my guests. Sorry......but this recipe should state to add the Kahlua until the desired taste is achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Oh yum! This is a great side dish. I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious! Be sure to use real unsalted butter, to get a great caramel flavor. I used a yellowish sweet potato, as opposed to a yam. I simmered the sauce a little after adding the kahlua, to cook off some of the alcohol. The kahlua added a great unexpected flavor. Sweet potatoes are so nutritious, you should eat them often, not just for Thanksgiving. And use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Made the recipe for 3 servings instead of 6. Called for 1/4 cup butter - used 3 tsps Butter Buds to cut fat and calories, 2 tsps water and 1 Tbsp butter. Next time I will use just Butter Buds and water. Called for 1/3 cup brown sugar - used only 2 Tbsp. It was more than sweet enough for me. To cut calories I will use only 1 Tbsp. next time. I liked the addition of Kahlua. Very tasty and would make again. My changes are only because I prefer to try and cut calories for myself. Didn't add raisins or pecans. Boyfriend also liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
My family and I found this recipe a little to Kahlua-e. If I make it again, I will adjust the amount of Kahlua I use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
You don't need to add much liqueur, too much would certainly over-do it. I made this with 4 very large sweet potatoes, 1 stick of salted butter, all the brown sugar called for and a little more than 3 tablespoons of Kahlua. Very rich, very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very Good, I thought that the Kahlua taste may have been slightly overwhelming (even though i love kahlua), but no one else did. I made these for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I found a very similar recipe without raisins and pecan. I made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It's a fantastic recipe. We love Kahlua so I double the amount of Kahlua and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made these without the raisins or Kahlua and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious! I took others advice and added kahlua slowly so I didn't use as much as the recipe called for. I also didn't have nuts, so I made it without and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this recipe was wonderful, My wife usually makes a sweet potatoe dish to go with pork but this beat hers by a mile. Don't tell her I said that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States