Easy, Sweet Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've been making my cornbread similar to this forever! Instead of the extra sugar I've used a small amount of maple pancake syrup n omit the honey as well! It's yummy n not too sweet! I've also just used honey alone n eyeball it...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very good, everyone liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. I usually opt to make one 9 inch round as opposed to muffins, but have made the muffins also. It really does turn a dry box mix into a much more moist and flavorful cornbread, and is super easy to make. Goes perfectly with meat or chicken chili. It is also much easier to buy a small box of Jiffy, when needed, as opposed to a large bag of cornmeal. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I just made this for our New Year's Day dinner and it was perfect. I forgot to add the sugar, but it still turned out great. Much better than the regular old Jiffy cornbread. I did cook it in a heated and buttered iron skillet instead of a muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
The best corn muffin ever. What I did to minimize the sweetness though I used 2 table spoon of honey instead of 3, and instead of using 2 table spoon of sugar I used a dash of sugar on each muffin. The best. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe definitly is better than just a plain box of cornbread, however, I can't say it was a hit with anybody.I did not make them muffins and next time I will. I made them in 2 small loaf pans. I substituted sour cream (did not have it on hand) for cottage cheese and did not add the white sugar as suggested that it is too sweet with it. When making boxed cornbread in the past, I just add half a can of creamed corn and it is just as moist. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
My husband and I thought these muffins were very good. I didn't have sour cream so used low fat cottage cheese that I had as a substitute. They are very moist almost cake like. Next time I will omit the sugar on top it just added extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This by far is the best Jiffy recipe I've tasted. Of course I made a few modifications like most of us on here. I split the recipe in half to make sweet muffins and savory muffins. 1) follow basic recipe minus sour cream and sugar. Increased honey to 6tbsp plus added 1 cup thawed sweet frozen corn pulsed with 2-4 tbsp unsalted butter. Also added 1/4 cup heavy cream to the 1/4 cup of milk. 2) too make savory I added garlic powder, onion powder, black ground pepper, Cayenne pepper and shaved Parmesan cheese ( 1/4 cup or so). I love these base recipes that you can build on. These were a big hit. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I wasn't sure how to rate this. I made mini muffins and didn't have paper liners so I sprayed the pan with cooking spray. The muffins completely stuck to the pan so we didn't have much by way of muffin left when pulling them out of the pan. But my husband really liked the taste. And one out of two kids thought they were good. I'll give it a try again sometime with muffin liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Delicious and moist! Did not add extra sugar on top. For a spread, mixed about 1tbsp whiskey, 1 C butter, 2tbsp honey. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States