Easy Sweet Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I always make a recipe my own. I used butter in place of shortening, instead of sugar i did a quarter cup of raw local honey. I used a duck egg (as it doesn't indicate what size of egg). I did 1.5 cups coconut, and 1/2 cup flour Mine turned out great. Nice and moist they taste like macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hulbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Baked these yesterday. They were delicious. Like others have said, I used butter instead of shortening, cut back sugar by 1/8 of a cup and only used 3-1/2 oz of sweetened coconut. Trust me there was plenty of coconut and definitely sweet enough just like I wanted them to be. Definitely a keeper. My son in law loved them. He likes desserts with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Turned out perfectly. I was making it for a reception too, so I needed something with a great presentation great taste! The recipe is almost foolproof! The only thing I did differently was use 1/8 cup less sugar, since the coconut was already sweet. I also used a tablespoon measure coated with Pam to make perfect little cookie drop circles. Finally, before putting in the oven, I put some extra coconut shavings on top for a garnish. They turned out so pretty and golden brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Lovely recipe so easy to do I'm not the best baker in the world i leave it mostly to my hubby but when my hubby tried one he loved them and it was a nice easy recipe to do with my darling daughter i added glacier cherries to give them a little pink colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe to the T except had no vanilla... Substituted with STRONG all day old coffee. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very easy and quick! I used rum flavoring instead of vanilla and it tasted great! Also decreased the sugar by 1/8 cup due to the sweetened coconut and used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportyredsaab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
GO MAKE THESE NOW! I used butter in place of shortening and followed the advice of another reviewer by lessening the amount of sugar (since I used sweetened coconut). There was more than enough dough to make a dozen cookies - so I put the rest into mini muffin pans, which also turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Excellent! Was quick and easy, texture was great and taste just how I love my cookies. I should have double the recipe, my daughter ate quite a few within minutes of taking them out the oven. This will be in my oven very often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Oh my, I loved this cookie! First batch used ingredients as listed except substituted butter for shortening. Turned out perfectly delicious. I like trying new things so for the 2nd batch, added some crushed almonds and dark chocolate chips, plus a 1/4 tsp. of cocoanut extract. These turned out very good, but if you just want the cocoanut taste, go with the original cookie recipe. Thanks for sharing this wonderful easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbamed91

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I really wanted this recipe to turn out great. Maybe I should have made one recipe then the second separately, but doubled it. Using big Oster mixer on #5 (whip) it took about 15-20 min for sugar (Apriva)/veggie shortening/eggs/extract to be light and fluffy. Decreased speed then added sifted flour/baking powder/salt 1/2 cup at a time. By the time it was all in the bowl, dough looked like medium to large crumbs. Added coconut and mixed by hand. Not able to use teaspoon so rolled dough in hand and broke apart to measure about 1 teaspoon. After baking then cooling, cookies tasted powdery. Will leave on plate overnight and see if taste increases. I guess I had visions of coconut maroons on my tastebuds. Question? I've always sifted flour first then measured. This recipe says add flour and dry ingredients then sift. Sifting after measuring creates more volume. Was this my problem? I would have loved giving better review, but at this time I can not. Will update later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States