Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I grew up on these because my grandmother would make them for me every Sunday. I agree with the member that added the vanilla though and sometimes a hint of cinnamon. Grandma did not use sugar but did add the vanilla. On the holidays for a really fun idea, instead of the milk, we would use an equal amount of eggnog it is a really kicked up flavor that way. My favorite was to put grape jelly or strawberry jam and roll them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Johns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
We followed the directions exactly and they did not come out at all...it was a bummer because we were really looking forward to them, but we ended up tossing them out completely - it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDahlFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
way more "eggy" tasting than the ones my mom would make. Also seemed to be extremely sensitive to the heat level (the spectrum between "burning" and "not cooking fast enough" was very small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Rockford, IL is my hometown. I live in California now, but Swedish pancakes are a favorite when I go back to visit. Craving them, I tried this recipe and it's fabulous. My husband said they were the best he'd ever eaten! I made it with light vanilla flavored soy milk, and increased the flour a tad bit. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Want to get slumber party kids in bed on time? Tell them if you don't hear them past 10, you'll have enough energy to make these. (Or Waffles with ice cream.)I really like the idea of using a large skillet and splitting it up. I cooked on about 325 and it went plenty fast for me. Here are some things I did in cooking and presenting: mixed in a blender, used a gravy separator to pour into skillet (kept bubbles on top). I created my own topping by blending defrosted berries (fresh is better but out of season), sour creme and some sugar. I'd guess about 1/2 cup berries with 1/2 cup sour creme and 2 Tbs of powdered sugar. Do as you will... just makes a yummy filling. Add extra berries on the side with powdered sugar and you're set! Hmmm wonder how these would go with ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
It tastes more like scrambled eggs than pancakes, making the combination with sweet toppings less than appetizing. I've tried much better swedish pancake recipes on allrecipes.com than this one. Pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandalyn
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I loved this recipe. I altered it. I used 3 eggs instead of 4, 1 cup of flour instead of half a cup. I too, couldn't resist not adding vanilla. LOL. I made them like crepes. My husband made our daughter ones with Brown sugar and syrup. These were really wonderful. They are going into my rotation of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yum! I never really made pancakes until I started feeding my boyfriend, I've been trying a new recipe every time. Let's just say I'm done looking for the perfect pancake recipe, Be forewarned, they may be thin, but they pack a filling punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Don't really know why I tried this recipe since I am born and raised in sweden and should know my "pannkakor" but I did and it's not quite right. I really like my recipe better wich is basically changing the flour to 1 cup and take away an egg or two depending on size. I also usually substitute 1/3 of the flour to whole wheat flour. We also usually eat our pancakes with strawberry jam or other kind of jam. I make them in a 10 inch pan with low edges with a long spatula I bought at IKEA. Just use your wrist to turn the pan to spread the batter out. If it gets stuck just use som butter on the pan. This recipe can also be used as an oven pancake if you add some fried bacon pieces in an 9x13 bakingpan and bake in the oven at 450 for 25-30 min and serve with lingonberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I tried to cook these on the stove top and on the grittle and both times it was imposible to cook them right. I had to dump the whole batch! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States