Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved it! It took me awhile to get the temperature of my pan right without burning them, but they came out great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is the most accurate yet easy recipe for Swedish pancakes that I've been able to find. (I'm also from near Rockford) Swedish pancakes are supposed to be really thin, like crepes, and this recipe gives the right consistency. Traditionally, they are served with lingonberries, powdered sugar and butter. You can also make them savory with other toppings, for dinner. You might want to cut down on the sugar in the batter, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Wonderful pancakes and easy to make - except for my family who paced around waiting until I cooked enough to serve. Next time I will use 2 or 3 frying pans. I brought home some Lingonsylt (lingenberry jam) from Stockholm which made the pancakes wonderful! I grew up eating my grandmother's Swedish pancakes and these are "eggier" than I remember. I was in Stockholm last last week (June 2010) and these are definitely eggier than the Swedish pancakes I ate there every morning. I tried using extra flour (3/4 cup) but then they were a bit too "cakie". Next time I will try reducing to 3 eggs leaving all else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Swedish pancakes are a favorite of mine. Stockholm Inn served the best we've ever had but these are close and easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My family and I LOVE Swedish Pancakes, and pretty much use this same recipe, HOWEVER I always add a splash of REAL vanilla to give it more flavor and the kids LOVE it, and can tell when I get in a hurry and forget the vanilla. I make in a blender and just pour it out into the skillet (on the stove, not an electric skillet)...VERY easy, plus some eath them plain with Peanut butter, other like fruit and some just good ol maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Fencl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delicious. Thought that at first, it would turn out like the crepes that I always make from the "Basic Crepes" recipe on AllRecipes, but it turned out to be a little more spongy of a texture and unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
So easy and delicious!! Thank-you for this recipe :) I've been searching for a recipe like this, my Norwegian Grandma used to make them. So many recipes make the batter so thin that the pancakes are too delicate to turn over and this one is just right. I added a bit of vanilla too but I've made them both ways and either way they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe caught my eye because of the title.. Easy Swedish Pancakes. In my opinion, making Swedish Pancakes is VERY easy.. lol. This is an excellent recipe. I've made it twice, first time exactly as written, second time with my own twist which my family preferred. I used 1 cup of flour instead of 1/2 - I also sifted mine, which made the batter very smooth and allowed it to cook evenly. I increased the milk to 2 1/4 cups.. to make up for the extra flour and that seemed just right. We like our Swedish Pancakes with a bit more complexity than egg and the addition of that bit of extra flour and milk really makes a nice taste difference. The egg amounts are perfect. Excellent recipe and thanks for sharing this great recipe! P.S. Note to self.. I really need to travel to Illinois and go check out this Stockholm Inn place.. I wonder if they know they are "famous" here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I moved to Colorado about 5 years ago from ILL and I really miss the Stockholm Inn in Rockford and the swedish pancakes. Everytime I visit I make a point to go there and eat. when I found this recipe it was the closest thing I have had to the sweedish pancakes I remember. I now make them every saturday for my boyfriend and I as he has fallen in love with them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was an ok recipe. I used 2 eggs, 1 cup of flour, a dash of salt, 2 tsp butter, added a tsp of vanilla and omitted the sugar. Fold them into quarters or roll into tubes when they come out of the pan, don't cut them. I smear the inside with sour cream and then the outside with strawberry jam. Fresh strawberries are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States