Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
these were good! i've never had them before but they reminded me of a crepe. i loved the crispness of them. had a good flavor as well. served with lingonberry jam i found at world market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These come out looking great, but they are flabby on the inside. I tried turning down the heat so they could cook longer and heat through more, but these thin pancakes tasted too watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My mom used to make these as a special treat for me every now and then. Eating them again took me back to those days. I don't think they were exactly the same measurements as my mom used, but they were close enough. I had no trouble with them on my non stick skillet. The hardest part was being patient enough to wait for them to cook before turning them. After that wait I couldn't wait to cook them all to eat them, so I ate my first 4 at the stove while the next 4 cooked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe for Swedish pancakes, however my recipe from my Swedish Great Grandmother includes just a touch of vanilla extract as well. We serve ours with butter and either powdered sugar or cinnamon and sugar. Takke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I make Swedish Pancakes all the time, and thought I'd try this recipe... This is by far, the worst, most tasteless recipe I've found for Swedish pancakes. This recipe is nothing more than a recipe for scrambled eggs with flour. YUCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSweetLilRedhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Thank you so much, Kari! My great-grandparents came from Sweden and my grandma cooked these for me. I learned from her how to twirl the pan so they would be lacy and crisp around the edges, and though she served them rolled with ordinary jam or jelly, I prefer lingonberry jam now that it is available from Ikea. These are real Swedis pancakes (tunna pannkakor) to me, not the little pancakes in the special pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this slightly differently, 1/2 a cup less milk and 1 less egg and 1/4 cup more flower, still made a very thin pancake. I also added vanilla. Just a dash. Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehilgenberg10
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I reduced the recipe so that it made one pancake and fried it in a small pan with a smidgen of butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These are a great different pancake from "normal" American pancakes. I noticed if I put more batter in the pan then I would think to put in, I can flip them so much easier. Will definetely make these again and maybe double the recipe, for 5 people 1 batch isn't enough! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I too was raised in Rockford, IL. and miss going to Stockholm Inn for Swedish pancakes. On a recent visit my sister made that the #1 priority. This recipe is excellent and comes very close to what I remember from my early years in Rockford....now if only I could find lingonberry sauce here in the deep south. This is a great recipe. After making this recipe several times I finally found buckwheat flour. Now I substitute maybe just 2 TBLS of the all-purpose flour with the buckwheat flour. Makes this recipe perfect. If you can find packaged Swedish pancake mix FROM Sweden such as Lunds you'll find all the good ones include buckwheat flour or malted barley flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States