Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I reduced the recipe so that it made one pancake and fried it in a small pan with a smidgen of butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These are a great different pancake from "normal" American pancakes. I noticed if I put more batter in the pan then I would think to put in, I can flip them so much easier. Will definetely make these again and maybe double the recipe, for 5 people 1 batch isn't enough! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I too was raised in Rockford, IL. and miss going to Stockholm Inn for Swedish pancakes. On a recent visit my sister made that the #1 priority. This recipe is excellent and comes very close to what I remember from my early years in Rockford....now if only I could find lingonberry sauce here in the deep south. This is a great recipe. After making this recipe several times I finally found buckwheat flour. Now I substitute maybe just 2 TBLS of the all-purpose flour with the buckwheat flour. Makes this recipe perfect. If you can find packaged Swedish pancake mix FROM Sweden such as Lunds you'll find all the good ones include buckwheat flour or malted barley flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved it! It took me awhile to get the temperature of my pan right without burning them, but they came out great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is the most accurate yet easy recipe for Swedish pancakes that I've been able to find. (I'm also from near Rockford) Swedish pancakes are supposed to be really thin, like crepes, and this recipe gives the right consistency. Traditionally, they are served with lingonberries, powdered sugar and butter. You can also make them savory with other toppings, for dinner. You might want to cut down on the sugar in the batter, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Wonderful pancakes and easy to make - except for my family who paced around waiting until I cooked enough to serve. Next time I will use 2 or 3 frying pans. I brought home some Lingonsylt (lingenberry jam) from Stockholm which made the pancakes wonderful! I grew up eating my grandmother's Swedish pancakes and these are "eggier" than I remember. I was in Stockholm last last week (June 2010) and these are definitely eggier than the Swedish pancakes I ate there every morning. I tried using extra flour (3/4 cup) but then they were a bit too "cakie". Next time I will try reducing to 3 eggs leaving all else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Swedish pancakes are a favorite of mine. Stockholm Inn served the best we've ever had but these are close and easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My family and I LOVE Swedish Pancakes, and pretty much use this same recipe, HOWEVER I always add a splash of REAL vanilla to give it more flavor and the kids LOVE it, and can tell when I get in a hurry and forget the vanilla. I make in a blender and just pour it out into the skillet (on the stove, not an electric skillet)...VERY easy, plus some eath them plain with Peanut butter, other like fruit and some just good ol maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delicious. Thought that at first, it would turn out like the crepes that I always make from the "Basic Crepes" recipe on AllRecipes, but it turned out to be a little more spongy of a texture and unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
So easy and delicious!! Thank-you for this recipe :) I've been searching for a recipe like this, my Norwegian Grandma used to make them. So many recipes make the batter so thin that the pancakes are too delicate to turn over and this one is just right. I added a bit of vanilla too but I've made them both ways and either way they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States