Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The recipe is simple, healthier than crepes, and just the way my husband remebers his grandmother making them! It took a few tries to get the timing right on turning them. Also, the batter needed stirring to keep the pancakes consistent. I added the vanilla, too. My 2 year old couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
being born and raised in Rockford and being Swedish I can definately say this recipe is pretty darn close to the famous swedish pancakes you would get here in Rockford...definately try this recipe. Lingonberries & powdered sugar- maybe a little patty sausage ... at nui flika !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
When I made these my husband said, "Your getting good at this". Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Sorry, but these did not taste good at all. Maybe I just had the wrong idea about swedish pancakes--I guess I was expecting it to taste more like a crepe---but it really had no taste at all. But then again, I'm not the most fabulous cook in the world and it could be partly my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
These were wonderful!! They reminded me of the Finnish pancakes my family used to make when I was a child. The batter is perfect as is and does not need extra flour. I cooked mine on my stove top in an 8" small non stick frying pan over medium heat and it made about 12 perfectly round pancakes. I then stacked them with layers of wax paper in between each one till they were ready to serve. Also 1 minute to a minute and 30 seconds per side was all they needed. I spead raspberry preserves on some of mine and then rolled them up, and they were soooo tasy!! I highly recomend this pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I tried the recipe using skim milk and real butter, sifted the flour before measuring and measured the butter after melting it. I used a preheated nonstick pan. I expected the batter to be runny, having made crepes many times over the years. My only concern was the butter that then congealed a bit in the metal bowl, so I gently heated it on a burner and stirred with a wisk. You have to be patient with this recipe and not try to mess with the edges of the pancake until they begin to pull away from the pan or until the very edge begins to brown a bit. I had my pan on a bit high, so they didn't quite look like the IHOP ones I love, but they tasted awesome! I was able to work a silicone spatula under them to the middle and flip them without cutting. When done, I folded them in quarter and put them on a plate in a 170 degree oven until I got all of them made. I sprinkled them with powdered sugar and heated apricot jam. Do I plan on keeping this recipe? Heck yes! I'm going to try it next time with vanilla or maybe try the OJ suggestion too for a change. However, the recipe is really great as is. The right tools will help keep the frustration at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I thought the flavor of these pancakes was very good and they were easy to stir up, however, I had difficulty cooking them. The batter is very thin and difficult to flip...had to add just a little more flour and that helped a lot. I also added just a touch of vanilla. I have made them several times and the family thinks they are "Great" and a delicious change from the regular pancakes we makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dainty Dish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Not great. These were way too eggy and had no substance while cooking. They kept falling apart and didn't cook evenly. I added some flour to my batter, which helped with the texture and kept it together. The overall flavour was not to my liking - won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was so excited to find this recipe and had to try it right away. Perfect and easy! I was trying to find something close to the Swedish pancakes at IHOP and this one is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My batter was lumpy, I couldn't make this without having the edges being crispy... it just didn't work out! BUT, I did taste it and it had a really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Barnums
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States