Easy Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Had to say this did not work out at all for me. The batter was WAY too thin. I know Swedish pancake batter should be thin, but not this thin. It was literally like water with lumps of flour in it. I tried using it but the first pancake I made was impossible to work with, even with a brand new non-stick pan. I have another Swedish Pancake recipe that I have used many times, just figured this one would be pretty much the same so I didn't bother to go dig the other one out of the recipe files. I will continue to use it instead of this one on Allrecipes. It calls for 1.5 cups of flour, 3 eggs, 2 cups milk, pinch of salt, 3 Tablspns. of sugar, 2 Tblspns. melted butter. I make sure to sift the flour (makes all the difference in the world) before adding to the milk and eggs. Also, make sure to use a non-stick pan, I don't have any luck otherwise. Works great, tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Grassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was so easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it's perfect! Thank you for posting! I grew up in Rockford, Il. too!! I moved away at 17 to Florida. So to find a good Swedish Pancake has been hard! Growing up my best girlfriends family would always make these pancakes and this is so close to what I remember hers to be like!! Thanks!! Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
My mother is Swedish, and when making pancakes for us each week she would use basically the same recipe but with more flour. When I followed the recipe the mixture was too thin based on past experience, so I increased the flour to the desired consistency. This made the pancakes more substantial (better for our three teenage boys!) and easier to handle in the pan. When the boys have grown up and leave home we will reduce the flour to the amount recommended by the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Thank you! I've lost my mother's recipes including the Swedish pancake recipe (I'm also from Rockford) and this is so very close. Bless you for posting it AND including the city because it truly caught my eye. I've loved these pancakes since I was a child, eating them both at home and at the restaurants. Bless you again for returning a piece of my mother and my childhood to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I'm not Swedish and didn't have my first Swedish pancake until recently, so I may not be the best judge about the authenticity of this recipe. But is was delicious! There is no chemical leavening and very little flour, so the pancakes turn out custardy instead of fluffy. I cut the recipe in half and had enough batter for two big pancakes. Instead of cutting and rolling as shown in the photo (not wild about that presentation), I folded it in thirds like a classic omelette and served it with blueberry syrup and butter. Folding instead of cutting and over-handling means you preserve that lovely custard quality the pancake has right out of the pan. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Cable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
What a coincidence that I do a search for this type of recipe and the first one I go to is from someone who is also from Rockford. :) The only trouble with these is deciding on a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Ganus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I think I just need some more practice with how much batter to use, how high to do the heat, flipping them, etc. Probably should have stirred up the batter each time I poured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Hampton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Thank you Kari for this recipe. Me and my family love these pancakes. I used all the same ingredients and followed the directions to a T. The only thing I changed were the measurements for the ingredients: 7 eggs, 3 C milk, 2 C flour, 2 pinch of salt, 2 Tbl of sugar, 4 Tbl. Of melted butter. Cooked in two frying pans over medium heat for about a minute each on each side. Makes plenty, and left overs are still good refrigerated, which the kids love to eat as a snack later on. Thx again. God bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I really liked this recipe, but I did use Silk vanilla soy milk. I, also use a preserve from Clearbrook farms apricot flavor, warmed up with a bit of water to thin the consistency. Not sure which of these changes made these so good, but they were yummy. I, also agree about letting the mixture sit for a bit, my flour was lumpy and I had to beat it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States