Easy Swedish Meatball Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just bought a bag of the pre-cooked Swedish meatballs at Ikea and needed a sauce. After reading some of the reviews here and relying on my memory of the ones my mother made I came up with these additions: 1 can of Consomme (instead of beef broth) and 1 can of water, 1 can of heavy cream, 1 teaspoon of Onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon each of Nutmeg and Allspice and 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt. Follow the directions on the basic recipe above including the soy sauce. It was PERFECT! I served it over wide egg noodles......AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I purchased premade meatballs and was looking for an easy sauce for those days when I need a quick meal. I substituted lowfat milk for the heavy cream and it turned out okay. I thought the amount of pepper the recipe called for was alittle heavy for my kids taste.I personally liked it, but the kids said it was spicy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
So wonderful--I'm making it again tonight, and I just made it last week! I added less cream and more flour and milk for a thickener. Not because I'm diet-conscious, but because it's less expensive, and that way I have some cream for the mashed potatoes I serve it on. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary-celeste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Incredibly simple and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie De Jardin Tilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
One of my families favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My family loved this. I put in 1/2 the soy sauce (just due to sodium), and 2/3 the black pepper because of the kids. Next time, I'll do 1/2 black pepper and let the family add more at the dinner table. But this was SUPER easy to make and tasted great. This will definitely become a regular at my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love this recipe as a starting base. I then go along and add a ton of ground stuff like basil, garlic, minced onion, few tbs of sour cream instead of heavy cream,etc. It turns out well each time, thank u for this recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Good but WAY TOO MUCH pepper. Will make again but will put in 1/4 teaspoon of pepper not 1teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
As per previous suggestions: It requires sour cream and a packet of onion soup mix. I find powdered skim mixed extra-strong (or to taste) makes a great substitute for cream without added fat - my picky eaters can never tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States