Easy Swedish Meatball Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum! Easy to make and the kids loved it! I used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 cream so it wasn't so heavy and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mkaty
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used the video tutorial from Allrecipes.com to make the Swedish meatballs to complement the sauce. It is fast and easy. The overall taste was good. I may continue to research other sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I gave it four stars for the following reasons: 1. I've never had Swedish Meatballs before and don't know what it's supposed to taste like. 2. When I was finished with the recipe, I had to add a dollup of sour cream - the soy sauce flavor was very strong. Husband said this helped a ton! DH loved it - DS, who is picky, didn't let a drop hit the floor (and he doesn't like red meat!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a good starter sauce for you to customize to your own tastes. I started with my favorite brown gravy mix (Southeastern Mills - very good!). When it was thickened to my liking, I added a concentrated beef stock, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, soy sauce & worcestershire. A little bit of sour cream for tang & a splash of red wine to thin it a bit. I added the sauce to already warmed meatballs and let it finish in the oven. Served over butter noodels - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKISETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I am legally blind, so in order to make things even easier,I have made up several seasoning blends from this site. In this dish I used my own Swedish Seasoning Blend.. It consists of 2 tsp Sea salt; 1 tsp each: allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg & fresh cracked black pepper. I use 1 tsp for 4 servings in a recipe replacing all other seasonings. and with that change this was a 5 star for us. Bobbi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelleypears
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is a great basic recipe. I doubled the meatballs and seasoned the sauce to my taste. Its great served over egg noodles with warm rolls:) definitely a keeper, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was wonderful. Try adding a splash of sherry, 1/2 tablespoon of Dale's steak seasoning and a small can of mushroom slices for a different, and awesome alternative. We served these at a wine tasting and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made these for a Christmas buffet. They were easy and very tasty. I Kept them warm in a crock pot which seemed to enhance their flavor even more. Everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe and substituted the beef broth with french onion soup and the soy sauce with Worchesire sauce. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My 7 and 9 year olds loved this! I added a dash of allspice to the sauce and used Wondra to thicken it up a bit. It was smooth and creamy with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States