Easy Swedish Meatball Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just bought a bag of the pre-cooked Swedish meatballs at Ikea and needed a sauce. After reading some of the reviews here and relying on my memory of the ones my mother made I came up with these additions: 1 can of Consomme (instead of beef broth) and 1 can of water, 1 can of heavy cream, 1 teaspoon of Onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon each of Nutmeg and Allspice and 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt. Follow the directions on the basic recipe above including the soy sauce. It was PERFECT! I served it over wide egg noodles......AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I purchased premade meatballs and was looking for an easy sauce for those days when I need a quick meal. I substituted lowfat milk for the heavy cream and it turned out okay. I thought the amount of pepper the recipe called for was alittle heavy for my kids taste.I personally liked it, but the kids said it was spicy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
So wonderful--I'm making it again tonight, and I just made it last week! I added less cream and more flour and milk for a thickener. Not because I'm diet-conscious, but because it's less expensive, and that way I have some cream for the mashed potatoes I serve it on. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary-celeste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Incredibly simple and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie De Jardin Tilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
One of my families favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My family loved this. I put in 1/2 the soy sauce (just due to sodium), and 2/3 the black pepper because of the kids. Next time, I'll do 1/2 black pepper and let the family add more at the dinner table. But this was SUPER easy to make and tasted great. This will definitely become a regular at my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love this recipe as a starting base. I then go along and add a ton of ground stuff like basil, garlic, minced onion, few tbs of sour cream instead of heavy cream,etc. It turns out well each time, thank u for this recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Good but WAY TOO MUCH pepper. Will make again but will put in 1/4 teaspoon of pepper not 1teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
As per previous suggestions: It requires sour cream and a packet of onion soup mix. I find powdered skim mixed extra-strong (or to taste) makes a great substitute for cream without added fat - my picky eaters can never tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States