Easy Swedish Meatball Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe on its own isn't very good, but its a good start to the sauce!! I had to mix garlic, paprika, more flour, and butter to give it flavor and body. After adding the extra spices it tasted very delicious!! Its a fast easy sauce and this is my second time making it *I didn't use the rosemary because I don't care for that spice*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie Collison Foulker
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I accidentally doubled the rosemary. Yikes! Anyway, we loved this dish, but next time I'll add more soy because for us, it wasn't salty for us. Maybe some salt instead. I think I will try sage next time too. Thank you for this great recipe, and I know wroth a few tweaks for my family's tastes, it will be a 5 star meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic sauce recipe! I doubled the recipe and I added 1 teaspoon dill weed and 1/4 cup white wine. I used less pepper and less rosemary than the recipe calls for. I made my own meatballs from Chef John's Swedish Meatballs on this site. After browning the meatballs for about 15 minutes I put them in the sauce to simmer for 20 minutes. It was great with mashed potatoes and even better with noodles for the next day leftovers! Not at all bland and the sauce was just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Tried to find something different for the meatballs and this was good. However, I really altered according to reviews so don't know what the original tastes like. I subbed thyme for rosemary, cornstarch for flour, cut way back on the pepper and added splashes of soy sauce, worcestershire, nutmeg, and a couple of pinches of sugar. Will make again and try to duplicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was trying to recreate the recipe my mom made when I was a little girl and it tasted nothing like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Bland. Boring. It got too thick. I did not use the pepper as directed because it's just too much pepper. Used my own homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe, but I did add some worchestire sauce, about 1 tablespoon. I also had to triple the recipe and only added 1 tablespoon of rosemary. Turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
very good but DEFINITELY cut down on the pepper works fine with 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream too:) thanks 4 the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
LOVED LOVED LOVED this. Super-easy, and exactly what I was craving. I always add nutmeg to any swedish meatballs recipe (I even add it to variations of meatloaf), and the nutmeg just kicked it up to 6 stars. We did serve it over egg noodles, with a side of steamed asparagus. Doubled the recipes for family, and not one meatball or drop of sauce was left!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this receipe with a few tweeks from some of the other raters. The receipe is for a serving of 8. I used 8oz of sour cream and 1 cup of whole milk because I had no other creams in the home. I scaled back on the rosemary and black pepper. It was great. I also made homemade meatballs to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States