Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have loved this recipe for years and years. I agree with supplementing the apple mixture with additional spices such as nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, etc. The trick to keep the batter from getting too runny is to soften the butter, not melting it. My "secret weapon" with this recipe is a teaspoon of almond extract in the batter - this takes an already easy delicious recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe if you read all the reviews. Thats what I did. I then combined the winners and the result was a huge hit last night. Since it was more like a cobbler and my group was 10 I used a rectangle casserole pan and 1 1/2 times the recipe. My pan was an 8x9 with probably a 1 1/2" side. If you use a 9x12 pan you need to double the recipe. For apples. 7 medium granny smith. I peeled sliced and dropped along the way into a bowl of water and lemon juice. This keeps the apples white while you peel. I mixed 1 tablespoon white sugar, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nut meg. After draining and drying of a bit of excess water with a paper towel from the apples I sprinkled and glazed them with the mixture and poured them into a bare pan. For topping the trick is to not over melt the butter. Just soften the butter. Wisk 1 egg, 1.5 cups flour, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. Add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/5 tsp nutmeg. Mix these altogether. Since the topping is not pourable just a large clump at a time of topping and then spread as evenly as possible over apples. It will spread out perfectly while baking. Bake at same temperature and time or until golden brown. The top comes out crispy. Since there is no pie shell you don't need to treat your casserole pan with butter or oils. Every drop comes out of the pan without sticking. Treating it would just make the dish too buttery. It was wonderul and devoured. It was better than a cob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
this was amazing....better than pie. i put one tbsp of cinnam. 1 tbsp of white sugar,1 tbsp of brown sugar and nutmeg in the apples before putting on the crust. I also put 1/2 cup of white sugar and supplemented with 1/2 cup of brown sugar...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
EASY and delicious! Following the suggestions of other reviewers, I added a bit more flavor to the apples. I mixed in 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and ¼ teaspoon of ground nutmeg with the 1 tablespoon of white sugar--tossing all with the apples. You may want to put a pan or piece of aluminum foil underneath the pie plate in the oven, as some juices from the apples escaped during baking. I served the pie warm, with scoops of vanilla ice cream on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Wow, one of the easiest and best recipes I have come across. My friends have declared it one of their favourites! For those of you who want an extra crunchy crust, use brown sugar, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maccabim, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is so good, and so easy to make. It is the most popular sweet at every place I have taken it. All the apple pie lovers I know approve of and love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I have to agree with Justa' Mom. It was good but needs more flavor. I am going to make again but will try some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My four year old, who happens to be the pickiest eater on the planet, ate a whole piece of pie and actually asked for seconds!!! Now if my son approves of this recipe, then so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was amazing. I did not have any problems with the crust getting hard. Very moist, in fact. I added some extra sugar to toss the aples b/c my experience has proven granny smith's to be a little bitter... I personally do not even like apple pie but made this for my family and fell in love with it when I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
VERY EASY... and absolutely, hands down, the very best apple pie I've ever tasted. Bravo. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy2bGina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States