Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made this and brought it to a dinner party and everyone LOVED it! It was super good. I did make a few adjustments though. I added a LOT of extra sugar (the apples were off our own trees and are REALLY tart) and a little bit of nutmeg. Once I had slathered on the sauce, I alternated layers of raw sugar and oatmeal. This made it have a nice crumbly "crust" on top & it looked awesome! Thanks for the recipe - I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is great...and easy. I used way too many apples and should have laid them down neater so it wasn't so lumpy, but that's my fault. Can't wait to try it again, this time I'll use less apples and be a bit more methodical about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I used whole wheat flour bc that is what we had in the house. I eliminated the sugar in the apples for ease. It was wonderful and easy. We took seconds. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great taste but too much butter and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Not impressed. Whole recipe is bland... and I followed suggestions from other reviewers. Gave it one star because it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. the only thing I would change is to use more sugar when tossing the apples. I certainly plan to make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I greatly enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. I took it to a Thanksgiving dinner and it was the first to go. I made a couple of small changes. I threw nutmeg in with the cinnamon. Next time I might add some apple pie spice also. I also use a Pillsbury pie crust in the bottom of the pie plate simply because I already had it. Finally I used half sugar and half brown sugar. Good consistency and nice flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delicious! I softened the butter instead of melting it. I added 1 T. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 T. brown sugar & 1 T. white sugar to the sliced apples. Also added cinnamon to the topping. It was very good & I think you could reduce the sugar in the topping -- it's pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe I have made for years. The original recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped walnuts mixed into the crust. It adds a great flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
SURPRISE! This is easy and delicious. I used a bottom crust and instead of cutting and fluting it, I folded the draped pastry up and over some of the Swedish 'crust', making almost a giant dumpling. It baked beautifully with the pastry crust keeping the apple juices inside. I added a little brown sugar mixed into the apples and used ground clove sparingly in the Swedish crust. The only other change I would make is to use about 1/2 tsp. of almond extract, if any. One tsp. was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States