Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
VERY GOOD! Big hit at Thanksgiving this year! I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and changed 2 of the instructions/ingredients as follow: for the filling I mixed 1T of brown sugar, 1t cinnamon and a bit of fresh nutmeg together with the 1T granulated sugar and then tossed it all with the apples. For the crust, I used softened instead of melted butter and I substitued one-half cup light brown sugar for one-half cup of the the granulated sugar. Baking time was about perfect at 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I am normally not a fan of apple pies, but this was amazingly good! It's a keeper, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I've been searching for a swedish apple pie recipe to teach my kid to bake. This is almost exactly like the one I learned when I was little. Easy for kiddos to do pretty much by themselves, and absolutely delicious! I used a bit less cinnamon than called for, and my hubby (who doesn't do desserts) was begging for it to be a regular menu item. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastazia Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Not bad, but just like somebody else said: this is apples with a giant cookie on top. I reduced the sugar in half and it still was pretty sweet. Although, I didn't use granny smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
It tastes better when cold. It must be refrigerated because of the egg though so be careful. Wasn't as good as my apple crumble so I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This pie is a great way to avoid all the hassle associated with pie crust. If you prefer a crunchy crust you cook it a little longer but be careful not to overcook it because then you'll end up with a crust that is too hard and you can't blame it on the recipe if that happens. I added 1/2 tsp more of cinnamon and decided to include 1/2 tsp each of cloves and nutmeg to spice it up a bit. The results were delicious. This pie is so easy to make that it's practically fool proof. Try it and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised that something so tasty can also be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This pie is amazing! I do not like pie of any sort and then I took a bite of this pie and it won me over. The crunchy topping is a nice touch. My son loved this pie so much that he did not want a cake for his birthday...he wanted this pie instead! The recipe is perfect as is...I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I've made it several times and am staying with my sister this weekend, and she's requested I make it. You can't go wrong with this pie. I agree with others: add a tiny bit of nutmeg to the mixture for coating the apples, and you can "adjust" the sugar to 1/4 c. white and 1/2 c. brown sugar for a total of 3/4 cup, which is plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I think this recipe would have been perfect if I wouldn't have put a full teaspoon of almond extract in per other review. It was over powering to me. Next time, I'll put maybe a 1/4 teaspoon in. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maicalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Easy. Quick. Would make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States