Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe I have made for years. The original recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped walnuts mixed into the crust. It adds a great flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
SURPRISE! This is easy and delicious. I used a bottom crust and instead of cutting and fluting it, I folded the draped pastry up and over some of the Swedish 'crust', making almost a giant dumpling. It baked beautifully with the pastry crust keeping the apple juices inside. I added a little brown sugar mixed into the apples and used ground clove sparingly in the Swedish crust. The only other change I would make is to use about 1/2 tsp. of almond extract, if any. One tsp. was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Would make this again. I use cortlands in ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Easy enough for my 14 year old daughter to make, great enough for the pickiest apple pie eater I have evr met. I followed a combination of other reviews' suggestions. This one is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly3548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
What a great recipe. I was looking for an easy apple pie recipe and came across this one. I love it. I did as others suggested and added 1 TBSP brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamom to the apples. The apples were still a little tart, so next time I make it, I'll add more sugar. I think using apple pie spice would be great too. I also used the brown and white sugar in the topping. It was crunchy, chewy.......and so yummy!! I'm making this instead of apple pie for Thanksgiving this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Loved this! Much simpler than messing around with a crust for traditional apple pie. Although traditional apple pie will still have its place, this is much easier and delicious. My husband was quite impressed as were all three kids (ages 7, 5 and 2). I did add half brown/half white sugar to the apples along with cinnamon. I made the topping with half brown/half white sugar also and added a little almond extract as another reviewer suggested. Making it again today to take to my brother and sister-in-law as they just moved to a new house so we'll see how they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is really yummy!! I used Macintosh apples because we picked them fresh. I also cut the butter down to one stick (1/2 cup). The best part is that it is so easy to make! You can just whip it up before dinner to serve warm afterwards (with vanilla ice cream, of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
All around great pie for a college student with limited cooking supplies/resources/experience. I have replaced some of the flour with oats when I have them on hand with a fair bit of success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As many other reviewers did, I adjusted the recipe to add flavor. Tossed 6 very thinly sliced apples with sugar & cinnamon, and placed in two pie plates (one 9-inch and one smaller, 7-8 inch). For the crust, I used 2/3 c. white and 1/3 c. brown sugar, 2/3 c. flour and 1/3 c. graham cracker crumbs, just-melted butter (closer to softened than liquid), nutmeg, and cinnamon. I had enough topping to spread over both pies (thinly), and cooked them together for only 30 min. The apples were very soft (almost like apple sauce), the crust was crunchy, and it was perfect-- not too sweet, not too tart-- and I have enough for home *and* to take to work. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was by far the best apple pie I have ever had. My husband is Swedish and he is hooked!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyMTMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States