Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. the only thing I would change is to use more sugar when tossing the apples. I certainly plan to make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I greatly enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. I took it to a Thanksgiving dinner and it was the first to go. I made a couple of small changes. I threw nutmeg in with the cinnamon. Next time I might add some apple pie spice also. I also use a Pillsbury pie crust in the bottom of the pie plate simply because I already had it. Finally I used half sugar and half brown sugar. Good consistency and nice flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delicious! I softened the butter instead of melting it. I added 1 T. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 T. brown sugar & 1 T. white sugar to the sliced apples. Also added cinnamon to the topping. It was very good & I think you could reduce the sugar in the topping -- it's pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe I have made for years. The original recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped walnuts mixed into the crust. It adds a great flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
SURPRISE! This is easy and delicious. I used a bottom crust and instead of cutting and fluting it, I folded the draped pastry up and over some of the Swedish 'crust', making almost a giant dumpling. It baked beautifully with the pastry crust keeping the apple juices inside. I added a little brown sugar mixed into the apples and used ground clove sparingly in the Swedish crust. The only other change I would make is to use about 1/2 tsp. of almond extract, if any. One tsp. was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Would make this again. I use cortlands in ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Easy enough for my 14 year old daughter to make, great enough for the pickiest apple pie eater I have evr met. I followed a combination of other reviews' suggestions. This one is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly3548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
What a great recipe. I was looking for an easy apple pie recipe and came across this one. I love it. I did as others suggested and added 1 TBSP brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamom to the apples. The apples were still a little tart, so next time I make it, I'll add more sugar. I think using apple pie spice would be great too. I also used the brown and white sugar in the topping. It was crunchy, chewy.......and so yummy!! I'm making this instead of apple pie for Thanksgiving this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Loved this! Much simpler than messing around with a crust for traditional apple pie. Although traditional apple pie will still have its place, this is much easier and delicious. My husband was quite impressed as were all three kids (ages 7, 5 and 2). I did add half brown/half white sugar to the apples along with cinnamon. I made the topping with half brown/half white sugar also and added a little almond extract as another reviewer suggested. Making it again today to take to my brother and sister-in-law as they just moved to a new house so we'll see how they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is really yummy!! I used Macintosh apples because we picked them fresh. I also cut the butter down to one stick (1/2 cup). The best part is that it is so easy to make! You can just whip it up before dinner to serve warm afterwards (with vanilla ice cream, of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States