Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
How can you go wrong with apples, butter, and sugar? It's an easy to make and delicious way to put them all together. I used half brown sugar and half white. A huge hit, so you might want to double the recipe and use a casserole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband is also asking me to make this again. I have another one in the oven right now. I added nutmeg and cinnamon to my apples along with the sugar. Without it, I think it wouldn't taste too flavorful. Overall, it's an easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitelaw, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I love this pie have been making it for a long time and it never fails. It's especially nice when you don't have time to fool with a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
very easy to make, I added the suggested nutmeg, half brown and white sugar and a little dash a vanilla on the apples, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I love this recipe but it does get a bit bland if you follow the directions exactly. Luckily, I'm a cinnamon fanatic so I actually mix in a teaspoon of sugar (or Slenda) with a teaspoon of cinnamon in my apples. I also replace the 1 teaspoon of cinnamon with either a full tablespoon of cinnamon or 2 teaspoons of cinnamon with 1/3 teaspoon of nutmeg, and a teaspoon of vanilla. It gives more flavor. I also take a very small amount of the batter and spread it on the bottom of my pan to give it a cake-like crust before adding the apples to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucksport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was excellent! Everyone enjoyed this. It was very easy, I wasn't rolling out anything. I added some more cinnamon and nutmeg when tossing the apples. I used 4 large apples and the amount was perfect. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was good, but I think if I make it again, I would use pie filling. The apples kind of dried out while baking. Using pie filling would also eliminate all the peeling/chopping, thus making it one of those SUPER easy desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was attracted to this because it didn't require a rolled piecrust (one thing I've never mastered and I "don't do" store-bought). Before trying this recipe I read the reviews and as others suggested, made modifications to the seasonings. Rather than just using white sugar for tossing the apples, I used 1 tbsp. each white & brown sugar, 1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 3/8 tsp. nutmeg. I used about half of this mixture for tossing the apples, then added the rest to the crust mixture. As for the apples, I used a wonderful variety, Wolf River, available in the Upper Midwest and New York State, though perhaps not common in much of the country. It's a fairly tart apple and the individual fruits are HUGE - some can weigh as much as a pound. I only needed two apples to make the pie. The results were terrific! (though I did increase the baking time slightly to 50 minutes... just know your oven, check near the end of the cooking time, and adjust accordingly). This recipe is one that I'll use often... in fact, hubby has already requested that I make it again next week! My heartfelt thanks to the person who originally submitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this today and it is wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Hmmm. it just seemed to good to be true. I tried this cause i wanted apple pie but i was too lazy to make one. this one seemed easy. i cooked it for about 15 minutes longer, but the batter never firmed up. There was just a thin crunchy top, the rest was just batter really. The bottom was very soggy. I give it some stars cause it didnt tase bad, but i can not serve this to my guests...ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States