Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was very good. I agree that it was a bit "soggy" towards the bottom, but delicious! I think the misconception comes in with people thinking it will be more "pie-like" when in fact it comes out more like a cobbler - but tasty all the same! I made for my hubby's bday and he loved it, as did my non-pie-eating son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
It was good however, turned out more like a cobbler instead of pie. Next time, use smaller pan as the batter was thick and did not cover all of the apples even though I used the conversion to accomodate a 10" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I probably used too many apples and also cooked in a stone dish, so I had to add time for the baking. Was so easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
really easy, everyone devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Yum, very fast, very easy but don't over bake it or the topping with be quite hard. Took me a little under 10 minutes to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is the easiest pie in the world. I had never made an apple pie but I wanted one for Thanksgiving and this one came out perfect. I did make one change though. I used cinnamon plus (pampered chef version) instead of just cinnamon and I also sprinkled a little cinnamon plus over the apples in addition to the sugar. The crust and apples were perfectly done and the taste was wonderful. So simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was skeptical, but since I had to prepare dessert for a potluck I had committed to weeks ago, and I had a bagful of old apples in my fridge and not much else, I took a shot at this recipe. I used brown sugar and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples and the crust, used the measurements times 1.5, made it in a casserole dish, and it turned out to be delicious!!! I'm keeping this recipe- why ever make 'traditional' apple pie??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have loved this recipe for years and years. I agree with supplementing the apple mixture with additional spices such as nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, etc. The trick to keep the batter from getting too runny is to soften the butter, not melting it. My "secret weapon" with this recipe is a teaspoon of almond extract in the batter - this takes an already easy delicious recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My Swedish Grandmother used to make the best apple pie I had ever had. I didn't realize why it was so good until I found this recipe and tried it. AMAZING! Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have to agree w/Asphyx...batter never firmed up and bottom was very soggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States