Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is the easiest pie in the world. I had never made an apple pie but I wanted one for Thanksgiving and this one came out perfect. I did make one change though. I used cinnamon plus (pampered chef version) instead of just cinnamon and I also sprinkled a little cinnamon plus over the apples in addition to the sugar. The crust and apples were perfectly done and the taste was wonderful. So simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was skeptical, but since I had to prepare dessert for a potluck I had committed to weeks ago, and I had a bagful of old apples in my fridge and not much else, I took a shot at this recipe. I used brown sugar and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples and the crust, used the measurements times 1.5, made it in a casserole dish, and it turned out to be delicious!!! I'm keeping this recipe- why ever make 'traditional' apple pie??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have loved this recipe for years and years. I agree with supplementing the apple mixture with additional spices such as nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, etc. The trick to keep the batter from getting too runny is to soften the butter, not melting it. My "secret weapon" with this recipe is a teaspoon of almond extract in the batter - this takes an already easy delicious recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My Swedish Grandmother used to make the best apple pie I had ever had. I didn't realize why it was so good until I found this recipe and tried it. AMAZING! Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have to agree w/Asphyx...batter never firmed up and bottom was very soggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I love this recipe and make it pretty frequently. I like it with Fujis, but it's a great way to use up apples that have gone a little too soft to eat. I always add some apple or pumpkin pie spice and cloves to the apples and the batter mix. Last time I made it, it was gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Sure is easy and quick to make. Since I found this recipe, I've baked the pie at least 5 times, mixing various apples. The original recipe is excellent, but doing half Fuji and half Granny Smith apples is just as good, not as tart with every bite. I've also done this recipe with Goldens and it was also tasty. Great recipe, yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetnsnooty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
How can you go wrong with apples, butter, and sugar? It's an easy to make and delicious way to put them all together. I used half brown sugar and half white. A huge hit, so you might want to double the recipe and use a casserole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband is also asking me to make this again. I have another one in the oven right now. I added nutmeg and cinnamon to my apples along with the sugar. Without it, I think it wouldn't taste too flavorful. Overall, it's an easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitelaw, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States