Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
All around great pie for a college student with limited cooking supplies/resources/experience. I have replaced some of the flour with oats when I have them on hand with a fair bit of success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As many other reviewers did, I adjusted the recipe to add flavor. Tossed 6 very thinly sliced apples with sugar & cinnamon, and placed in two pie plates (one 9-inch and one smaller, 7-8 inch). For the crust, I used 2/3 c. white and 1/3 c. brown sugar, 2/3 c. flour and 1/3 c. graham cracker crumbs, just-melted butter (closer to softened than liquid), nutmeg, and cinnamon. I had enough topping to spread over both pies (thinly), and cooked them together for only 30 min. The apples were very soft (almost like apple sauce), the crust was crunchy, and it was perfect-- not too sweet, not too tart-- and I have enough for home *and* to take to work. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was by far the best apple pie I have ever had. My husband is Swedish and he is hooked!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyMTMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe if you read all the reviews. Thats what I did. I then combined the winners and the result was a huge hit last night. Since it was more like a cobbler and my group was 10 I used a rectangle casserole pan and 1 1/2 times the recipe. My pan was an 8x9 with probably a 1 1/2" side. If you use a 9x12 pan you need to double the recipe. For apples. 7 medium granny smith. I peeled sliced and dropped along the way into a bowl of water and lemon juice. This keeps the apples white while you peel. I mixed 1 tablespoon white sugar, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nut meg. After draining and drying of a bit of excess water with a paper towel from the apples I sprinkled and glazed them with the mixture and poured them into a bare pan. For topping the trick is to not over melt the butter. Just soften the butter. Wisk 1 egg, 1.5 cups flour, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. Add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/5 tsp nutmeg. Mix these altogether. Since the topping is not pourable just a large clump at a time of topping and then spread as evenly as possible over apples. It will spread out perfectly while baking. Bake at same temperature and time or until golden brown. The top comes out crispy. Since there is no pie shell you don't need to treat your casserole pan with butter or oils. Every drop comes out of the pan without sticking. Treating it would just make the dish too buttery. It was wonderul and devoured. It was better than a cob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love this recipe!! I made a mistake and put a pie crust on the bottom and it was just wonderful.I also added 1 teaspoon light brown sugar and used 6 apples. I love the cinnamon crust. The only thing is that it doesn't cook in 40 to 50 minutes. It took me 1 hour and 15 minutes so it would be crunchy. But some ovens are different than others. I have a new oven that seems to take about 10 minutes longer to cook things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was good. I made it with half Granny smith and half Fugi and it tasted great. It was still tart, but it's complemented well by the crust. I also put a thin layer of crust on the bottom and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
OMG thank you for this, it is soooo easy and my grand daughter (an apple pie nut!) loves it. I do put a little cinnamon in with the apples, as well as brown sugar instead of white sugar to toss. ANd I substitute half white and have brown sugar for the topping. Thank you for sharing this tasty, fast, and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grayling, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I made this with half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also added a pinch of ground cloves and nutmeg to the topping. It turned out great - not too sweet, and the pastry cooked perfectly. Husband wolfed it down. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made it yesterday. I replaced half of the sugar with brown sugar to get a nice dark color. I added the spices like most of the reviews advise and also some powdered vanilla. My batter ended up quite thick to the point where I could not "pour" it on the apples so I got adventurous and added three table spoons of low fat milk. I let it cooked for 20 minutes longer than on the recipe and it ended up beautifully! Nice and crunchy on the edges and "flan" like inside. Not liquid at all... I'll definitely make it more often and bring it to work. It's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMITSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rueil-Malmaison, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
So easy and so tasty! It's more of a cobbler than a pie, but it's a great tasty way to use up apples. I added some ground cloves for extra flavor and served with whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States