Easy Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great taste but too much butter and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Not impressed. Whole recipe is bland... and I followed suggestions from other reviewers. Gave it one star because it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. the only thing I would change is to use more sugar when tossing the apples. I certainly plan to make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I greatly enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. I took it to a Thanksgiving dinner and it was the first to go. I made a couple of small changes. I threw nutmeg in with the cinnamon. Next time I might add some apple pie spice also. I also use a Pillsbury pie crust in the bottom of the pie plate simply because I already had it. Finally I used half sugar and half brown sugar. Good consistency and nice flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delicious! I softened the butter instead of melting it. I added 1 T. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 T. brown sugar & 1 T. white sugar to the sliced apples. Also added cinnamon to the topping. It was very good & I think you could reduce the sugar in the topping -- it's pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe I have made for years. The original recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped walnuts mixed into the crust. It adds a great flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
SURPRISE! This is easy and delicious. I used a bottom crust and instead of cutting and fluting it, I folded the draped pastry up and over some of the Swedish 'crust', making almost a giant dumpling. It baked beautifully with the pastry crust keeping the apple juices inside. I added a little brown sugar mixed into the apples and used ground clove sparingly in the Swedish crust. The only other change I would make is to use about 1/2 tsp. of almond extract, if any. One tsp. was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Would make this again. I use cortlands in ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Easy enough for my 14 year old daughter to make, great enough for the pickiest apple pie eater I have evr met. I followed a combination of other reviews' suggestions. This one is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly3548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
What a great recipe. I was looking for an easy apple pie recipe and came across this one. I love it. I did as others suggested and added 1 TBSP brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamom to the apples. The apples were still a little tart, so next time I make it, I'll add more sugar. I think using apple pie spice would be great too. I also used the brown and white sugar in the topping. It was crunchy, chewy.......and so yummy!! I'm making this instead of apple pie for Thanksgiving this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States