Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I've been trying to find a good, soft sugar cookie. These are it! As other reviewers say, the key is to have the butter EXTREMELY softened (no, not melted). I let my butter cubes sit out for at least an hour to soften. My daughter loved these. We made some for her play and added food coloring. They also taste great with butterscotch chips in them. I also added more vanilla (note I use pure vanilla not imitation).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very good cookies came out nice and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Best sugar cookies ever. Fast easy simple and yummy. Been using this recipe for years and its never dissappointed me. Its my go to recipe whenever I want to bake cookies. To anyone reading the reviews try this recipe you will not be dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this recipe, and like others, I had to tweak it to make it work. The cookies taste good, but I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of the 1 teaspoon called for in the recipe. As I was mixing them, they were as dry as the Sahara Desert, so I added 1/4 cup of milk until the dough was of the correct consistency. The dryness was NOT due to the butter being too hard or cold either, because I had left my butter out on my counter for a full day before I used it. I also cut down the flour by 1/4 cup. The other thing I had to do was to bake them for only 7 1/2 minutes in my oven. I don't know if my oven runs hot or not, but the first batch that went into the oven was too brown for me. I prefer a less brown, softer cookie. When I made all of those changes, the cookies turned out good and they taste fine, but because of that, I can only give this 3 stars. Too many changes and it isn't even the same recipe anymore. I would make them again, but only with my changes and with frosting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Love this simple recipe! Our cookies tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great cookies! They are still delicious and chewy two days later. I knew the day before that I wanted to bake these cookies the next say so my butter (unsalted) sat for a full day on counter top. I realized that I'd ran out of baking powder so I used 2 tsps of baking soda and a tsp of fresh lemon juice to make up for those acidic components and they were absolutely out of this world! I did start with rounded tsps of dough but they were too small. So I finished up with 1/2tbsp for each cookie. 1tsp will take 8mins and the 1/2tbsp took no more than 10mins. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TASIKA78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe is ridiculously easy and delicious! I used it to make Piñata Cookies (3 cookies put together with royal icing, the middle cookie has its center cut out and filled with candies) and they were absolutely perfect! I baked each pan of cookies for only 8 minutes and they turned out crunchy and just how i like sugar cookies. It was a last minute decision to make these for my Spanish class, so I am very pleased with the result. Even my parents, who have been bakers since they were teenagers, said they were delicious! I've never baked on my own before, and I'm so happy these were my first from-scratch cookies. I plan on making more this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Loved these! I split this recipe in 1/2 and rolled the other have in cinnamon and sugar. I can't decide which I like better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell
Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I love it!! I add cinnamon and sugar on top to make them snickerdoodle cookies! This is our family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by One Wise Lady
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I just wrote a whole description of our cookie making adventure. It go erased. These are excellent. Not writing it all over again. We had a good time. Will try to send picture. 8-9 min for generous tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States