Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I had no idea just how delicious these cookies would be! They are definitely going into the family recipe box. I took the suggestions of making sure the butter is soft. I like to leave out the butter overnight and then nuke it for 15 seconds just to get the butter slightly melted. Also, I added 2 tsp of vanilla extract. I love vanilla extract. I think the vanilla really comes through because of adding a little extra. I made tablespoon size balls of dough , baked them for 10 minutes on 400 then when freshly baked made crisscross patterns with a fork to make little beds for cinnamon sugar and red sugar crystals thus making them more like snicker doodles. I even added a tsp of cinnamon in one batch. I like making the cookies a little larger and baking a minute or two longer because when these cookies cool down they become these hardy, delicious cookies you can really sink your teeth into. This is a wonderfully simple recipe, so when your family asks for more of these it won't be a problem to whip up if you have the ingredients handy. The recipe calls for a 2 cups of butter so, stock up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
yummy easy my mom loved them I like to add extra eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Taste great and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great recipe, I made a minor modification. Initially, the dough was way too dry, so for the second batch I reduced the flour to 2 and a 1/2 cups. Much improved texture. I also added orange essence (1 teaspoon) and 1/4 cup of flaked coconut. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
super easy to make and never fail! definitely agree with the last post. the butter has to be soft and everything blended well. slowly adding the flour and chilling afterwards seemed to help a bit aswell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So I added my own twist on the recipe. Came out so well the first time, I followed my instincts and made another. The butter really is the key. First batch, butter had been out all night to thaw and they came out perfect. Second batch, butter was out most of day, but was not softening much, I used a mixer on it, but the cookies still came out kinda hard. My old made from scratch recipe left me with hockey pucks, big improvement from that to just a bit hard. Try using a mixer on the butter, if nothing else it is easier to mix ingredients by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Simon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've had better cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these tonight, and the only thing I did differently was to add an extra egg yolk, and had to substitute a tsp of water (for moisture) because I was out of any extracts that would have tasted good in this recipe. The dough felt a little crumbly when I started to shape them the first time, so I threw in the extra yolk and then it was perfect. They formed balls easily with no stickiness. I made larger sized cookies (recipe made about 12 total) so mine took more like 10 minutes to cook. They have a mildly crunchy outside with a chewy inside. The flavor is tasty enough to eat the cookie un-frosted, but is not so sweet that frosting them would be overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These are really interesting!! They didn't flatten out the way I thought they would but they were soft and chewy, even at 10 minutes baking. I have yet to figure out how to put sprinkles on well so they're even (I guess next time I'll do it in the dough rather than on the mounds) but they still came out great! Tasty and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Too dry!! I'm so disappointed with the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States