Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I checked and double-checked my ingredient amounts. I did everything as it said. I even checked reviews and made sure my butter was properly softened. What I got after 8 minutes was round balls of dough that didn't flatten, were very VERY dry on the outside, and uncooked on the inside. I've never had this happen before! Edit: I added 1 egg and some extra butter to the rest of the batch and they still wouldn't flatten. I'll call this recipe a waste of ingredients and find something that actually works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Eating one right now! Yummmmmy! I split the amount of sugar 1/2 & 1/2 with white and brown, made some powder sugar icing to spread on once cooled and they are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthybrightkids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is the BEST sugar cookie recipe! I actually used the dough for shape cookies for Halloween so I put the dough in the fridge for an hour. The dough is definitely crumbly at first but it comes together nicely in your hands (it's like pie crust!) and then you can roll it out (I did it in small batches). I was worried it wouldn't work for shale cookies but it worked perfectly. The cookies are absolutely DELICIOUS and I will definitely add this recipe to my collection. This is now my go-to sugar cookie recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These were delicious! I substituted the shortening for butter and added and extra tsp of vanilla. They were crispy, yet buttery and chewy in the middle. You must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JADE WISE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe is easy and fabulous! Made batch with no problems the first time. The cookies are crispy and chewy just a great balance! I added about a half tsp more of vanilla and a pinch of salt for flavor enhancement! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE WISE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
OMG! Wow these cookies are amazing. I added cinnamon, a lot. 3 tbs. Thank you for the tip to cook only 8 minutes. They are crispy and still have a soft chew. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Pretty good recipe. I thought they were slightly bland, however. I put an extra bit of vanilla in my second and third batches. Also, I used a vegetable oil spread instead of butter the third go round just because it's what I had on hand. My oh my what a difference. Soft, chewy, and flavorful! The other reviewers were spot on. Make sure your butter is completely soft, and don't overcook. I actually thought mine were going to be way too raw but they finished cooking after I took them out and set perfectly. Huge hit at a baby shower and house party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is my "go to" sugar cookie recipe! As I have seen mentioned, I use very soft butter, use only a 1/2 of teaspoon, and only bake 8 minutes. Every stove and texture like- is different. You just have to find yours. I usually have dough left over, so I refrigerate the rest, and those seem even better! If I could, You would have a ten rate from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Howell Sloan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These cookies are delicious and super easy. When I made them, I divided the recipe by 4 (since 4 dozen cookies is a lot of cookies) except I added half an egg instead of a quarter. Also, I used almond extract instead of vanilla because I live in Germany and Germans don't use vanilla very often. Even with dividing the recipe by 4, I got 21 decent sized cookies. I live with very picky host-siblings and they even liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssacoy
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
These came out so perfect for me, I added sprinkles to make them look nice. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States