Easy Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wow! I just made this for dinner, and it was a hit even with my almost 2 year old! I'm a vegetarian so I substituted the ground beef with soy crumbles. I read through many reviews before making the meal. First, I browned the "ground beef" in about 1-2 TBS of butter with chopped onion and chopped crimini mushrooms and the garlic. I quickly added regular salt (only half tsp) and double the Worcestershire sauce (2 TBS). I then added only one mushroom soup (stock up at Trader Joes) and then 1 cup of vegetable broth to the pan. Finally, I added almost the whole container of light sour cream (16 oz). I set that on low until the egg noodles were done, and a few minutes before the egg noodles were done I added frozen green peas to the pot. Drained the noodles and placed back in pot. Slowly mixed in the sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this last night for my boyfriend and I and it was so bland, it was ridiculous. I substituted the beef for ground turkey and seasoned it while it was cooking with more Worcestershire sauce than the recipe called for, chopped onions, seasoned salt, black pepper, minced garlic and garlic powder. After I drained the noodles, I tossed with a little butter and then used only one can of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup milk, omitted the mushrooms because I don't like them and used about 3/4 cup sour cream and threw in some cooked mixed vegetables. When it was done, I tasted it and immediately added more black pepper, garlic powder and a healthy coating of adobo. Only then did it taste like something I would serve. When my boyfriend tasted it, he threw in more adobo, black pepper and garlic powderbefore eating a large portion. For me to have to add so much salt to something wh en I detest using salt is unacceptable. I won't this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was pretty good as is, the only change I made was to add extra sour cream instead of milk. Its a very good base recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FTLSWEETIE
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Yummy comfort food! I made some changes to make this a little more friendly calorie / fat / sodium wise. I used whole wheat egg noodles (12 oz package), 1 bag of Boca Meatless Ground Crumbles, 2 Tbsp (or to taste) Low Sodium Worcestershire sauce, left out the seasoned salt, used 99% fat free cream of mushroom soup, 1 soup can of skim milk and low-fat sour cream. I also cooked my crumbles and garlic with a pan sprayed with Pam to prevent sticking. My husband gave it AAA+++ and said he would definitely eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTLSWEETIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Excellent mid-week recipe. My family loved it & since making it the first time, have asked me to make it again & again....that's always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good I added chopped onions. I did not have sour cream so I used kraft philadelphia cooking creme Italian & beef broth instead of milk. I cooked litle shels in with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Yost

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good flavor...however it was a tad bit liquidy. I would put in much less milk. I was in a hurry and was just adding, afterwards realized I put too much in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was one of the most boring, flavorless dishes I've ever made. I followed the directions exactly and was really disappointed. I will not attempt it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this recipe using ground turkey instead of beef and used fresh sliced mushrooms vs canned. Also, I didn't have sour cream so I replaced it with about 2 oz of low fat sour cream. Therefore I put in slightly less soup. It was very tasty though a bit dry. I will go ahead and add all the soup next time and try it with the sour cream. Paprika is a nice spice to be added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States