Easy Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe was extremely easy to make and tasted great. I wasn't able to go shopping today so I had to use vanilla yogurt instead of plain and hot cocoa mix instead of cocoa. It turned out great and my family loved it. I might add a vanilla glaze to it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was pretty yummy- I tweeked the recipe a little after reading the other comments. I used fat free sour cream instead of yogurt because that's what I had, made the streusel with pecans and added two Tbls of brown sugar as well. Before topping with the rest of the batter I also sprinkled some mini-chocolate chips over the streusel. It took about 40 minutes to bake in a 9x13 pan. I just had a piece (had to try it before I take it to a meeting...) and I'm going to make a little glaze for the top to add a little extra umph. Overall, good, easy recipe though- I will keep it on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very tasty cake! I added some miniature chcoloate chips, pecans and brown sugar to the streusal layer. It was great warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
bake time is either wrong or my oven screwed up we made this twice with the same results the outside looked burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Needed a quick fix dessert and because I don't enjoy baking, this fit the bill. Based on what ingredients I didn't have in the house, this cake still came out nicely. I used lemon pudding, peach yogurt, no cocoa and white cake mix. I also made a crumb topping which set it off perfectly. Thanks Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Excellent cake, very moist and easy to make, but the struesel filling was not as great as I thought, and I did add brown sugar as suggested. I will definately make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I made this recipe for a bible study class. Everyone seemd to like it and I will definitely keep it in my personal file. My husband and my neighbor's husband commented on how moist the cake was. I did add a little glaze on top for presentation. I think you could use cinnamon, nuts and brown sugar instead of chocolate and have a winner as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Yummy!! I took the advise of another review and used lite sour cream in place of the yogurt. (didn't have yogurt) I also threw in some brown sugar with the streusel for extra sweetness. This is a keeper!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM0123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This cake turned out great although I did make a few changes. I didn't have plain yogurt so I used sour cream. Didn't have any nuts so just left those out (would have been good with them though...). I cheated when it came to cooking, it was for breakfast and we were all starving so I put this in the microwave for 6min 30sec in the tupperware stack cooker base w/cone. I did pour some olive oil onto a paper towel and wipe it down so it wouldn't stick (never believe non-stick promises! LOL). Came out great! Held together nicely, no crumbling at all, and moist. I served this with a little bit of cinnamon role icing drizzled on top and with slices of fresh kiwi. (And each kid got a scrambled egg, can't have them filling up on cake now can we?) Next time if I am braver I would layer the kiwi slices in the baking dish on the bottom and the middle to see how well that comes out. They complimented each other so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
a simple but delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States