Easy Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe might be wrong because it did not contain any water, which did make it stiff and difficult to spread in the pan, but it came out fine. I only rated this four stars because I think the recipe needs some additions. As suggested by others, I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to the streusel, to give it a little sweetness. Also as suggested by others, I made a drizzle glaze of confectioner's sugar, half and half, and vanilla, which definitely enhanced the flavor. I found my cake to be a little dry, but I suspect that was caused by my using 0% fat Greek yogurt, which is what I had on hand. I will use 2% fat Greek yogurt next time. The flavor was very nice; didn't taste like a cake mix at all. I also like that it was very quick to put together. I may try baking it in a 9x13 pan and putting all the streusel on top and adding some regular or mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good. Made 2 - one with blue berries, which didn't turn out that well. The frozen ones I bought were HUGE. Kinda clumped up on bottom of the pan.. Not the recipes fault, but FYI. The second one I used the hot choc mix for streusel - VERY good. And turned out moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this recipe a few days ago. I had a box of yellow cake mix & wanted to use it to make something. I was disappointed in the cake overall. It tasted like a box cake mix. I was hoping all the other ingredients would make it taste homemade, but they didn't. The family seemed to like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!! I USED BROWN SUGAR, CINNAMON, AND BUTTER FOR THE STREUSEL---I PUT THE STREUSEL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CAKE AND ON TOP AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This cake was pretty good. Like many others have suggested, I too would have used brown sugar instead of cocoa. Also, the picture shows a glaze but this recipe does not include that. I found a vanilla glaze that went really well on top. 1 cup confectioners sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and 2 tbsp. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I didn't care for the cocoa in the middle. Cake was moist. Next time I would use a brown sugar and cinnamon mixture like a few others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
i didn't even get a piece it was gone so fast i add 2 tablespoons brown sugar,1 tablespoon of cinnabon,and a package of hot coccoa mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dareutruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midwestchef
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I am soooo angry! LOL I made this for a Bible Study Class snack yesterday - and they ate every last crumb! There was nothing to bring home...It was so delicious and soooo easy. Will have to make this again to enjoy at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Photo by Ginny
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Wonderful and EASY recipe...I changed it to be a blueberry cake with a brown sugar and cinnamon streusel. I added one cup frozen blueberries (would have been good with 1/2 cup more) to the cake mixture. Here is the streusel recipe I used... 1/2 cup flour, 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 2 1/2 tablespoons margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
The recipe for the cake is great. Instead of the cocoa I use a brown sugar and cinnamon mix for the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States