Easy Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is the "quintessential" Massachusetts cheese steak! Pop the thing under the broiler for a few mins., if you like toasty bread. Serve with chips, pickle and a coffee shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Nice sandwich but not even close to a Philly Cheesesteak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
it was a very good sandwich. it was very spicey, and smelled amazing while cooking. I acually forgot the cheese so it was less cheesesteak and more, well, steak. it was very easy to cook too. Steak + sandwich + spicey = the Perfect MANwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was the easiest steak sandwich to make and my family loved it! I used provolone instead of the sharp Cheddar which gave it a smoky flavor. I will fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Way to go!!! I just love those cherry peppers in this sandwich and I add some of the juice from the jar to the pan when it's cooking. Put a small lid over the meat/cheese and the cheese will melt faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by condor43
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Just so happens, this sammie is the same in northeast MA. I made one yesterday for the first time and a hint would be to get the rawest deli roastbeef and have them shave the meat at .04 on the slicer. I can't get a really good cheesesteak where I live now in AZ, so I got going on my own and it came out great. I carmelized onions, charred a red and yellow pepper. Incorporated the prepared onion/peppers with the pan-fried shaved steak, topped with white american and it was delicious. I will probably expand with pepper rings and different cheeses but this one was great on a sub roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by condor43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Good, but no where near a PA. Cheesesteak. We can't find a good one here, so I try to make my own, still not like up there, could it be the PA. air!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My husband loved this sandwich! I doubled the recipe and used chuck roast. I also covered the dish for the cheese to melt as other readers mentioned. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Though it isn't quite like a philly cheese steak, my husband ate this for dinner and then, requested it again for lunch to take with him to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Husband loved these sandwiches. I added provolone and swiss cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States