Easy Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by condor43
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Just so happens, this sammie is the same in northeast MA. I made one yesterday for the first time and a hint would be to get the rawest deli roastbeef and have them shave the meat at .04 on the slicer. I can't get a really good cheesesteak where I live now in AZ, so I got going on my own and it came out great. I carmelized onions, charred a red and yellow pepper. Incorporated the prepared onion/peppers with the pan-fried shaved steak, topped with white american and it was delicious. I will probably expand with pepper rings and different cheeses but this one was great on a sub roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by condor43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was the easiest steak sandwich to make and my family loved it! I used provolone instead of the sharp Cheddar which gave it a smoky flavor. I will fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is the "quintessential" Massachusetts cheese steak! Pop the thing under the broiler for a few mins., if you like toasty bread. Serve with chips, pickle and a coffee shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Wow! I've never had a Southeastern Massachusetts cheesesteak before but boy it sure is good. I'm used to Philly style (Pat's or Geno's)and this is so "easy" and so delicious. My husband is a fan of cheesesteaks so I thought I'd give this a try and am glad I did. I bought "chip steak" which is basically sirloin cut paper thin. It cooks in no time at all! I cut my onions and peppers lengthwise and lighty toasted my steak rolls under the broiler before piling on the ooey, gooey meat and cheese mixture. Nice recipe that's perfect for a quick weeknight meal. Goes great with kettle cooked chips and an ice cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Used leftover london broil for this along with roasted red peppers and hot banana peppers. Pepper Jack cheese went nicely with this sandwich and so did some thinly sliced, fried potatoes. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
it was a very good sandwich. it was very spicey, and smelled amazing while cooking. I acually forgot the cheese so it was less cheesesteak and more, well, steak. it was very easy to cook too. Steak + sandwich + spicey = the Perfect MANwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Way to go!!! I just love those cherry peppers in this sandwich and I add some of the juice from the jar to the pan when it's cooking. Put a small lid over the meat/cheese and the cheese will melt faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Nice sandwich but not even close to a Philly Cheesesteak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
If you brown the baguette on the inside, it will help keep any grease out of the bun. Also while unfrozen meat might be easier to cut, using fresh never frozen steak will ensure maximum quality. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Fast and Easy!!! I thought these sandwiches were great...but I did make quite a few changes. I used leftover steak. Used havarti cheese. Focaccia bread and omitted the peppers. Beyond that....amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States