Easy Spicy Thai Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This had a really nice flavour, I followed recipe exactly, I was a little apprehensive of the heat of the thai chilli paste, I licked a little off the spoon, before I threw it in the sink, it was really Hot! But I went ahead and made. I had to use Kikkoman Brand Toasted Sesame Marinade, 345 ml size, as the kraft one mentioned is not available in Ontario, but I think this was comparable. I made the ginger/garlic paste as supplied, I couldn't find it in the store, I used boneless breast and bone-in skinless thighs (for more flavour). I left this on low while I went to work (I made the sauce the nite before and food processed it and stuck it in the frig), great smell when I got home. I took chicken out of pot and took out bones and roughly sliced and set aside. Turned up crock pot to high with lid on (10 to 15 min.), then I mixed about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and water, and stirred this into sauce in the pot, it thickened up nicely. I used some Thai stick pasta (very thin pasta, that you just soak for 10 minutes in boiling water, drain and its ready) I mixed everything, including some green beans cooked to still crisp and mushrooms ) (Get those veggies into meals) This was excellent heated back up the next day, and the next day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is really good. I made it last night for dinner but wanted to cut calories so used 1/2 bottle of light Kraft Asian dressing. It turned out great with complex flavor that was not overpowered by the Chili sauce. Despite using 1/2 the dressing, we still had 2 cups of liquid in the slow cooker when it was finished that made a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I did enjoy this dish very much. However, next time, I will make one modification - I will use half the amount of Asian Dressing. That's more than enough. Normally I don't modify a recipe until after I've tried it as is, but I had to make two changes, one out of neccessity and the other by choice. First, I didn't have any ginger-garlic paste so I used 1 tbsp each of minced galic cloves and minced ginger. Second, there were no vegetables! Lots of chicken but no veggies. So I threw in 2 diagonally sliced carrots, 1 large rough chopped onion, and 8 oz fresh button mushrooms, then layered the chicken over it and then the sauce. An hour before it was done I tossed in 1 rough chopped red pepper. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Husband says 3, I say 4. I halved the recipe, but left the chile paste, ginger garlic paste, and peanut butter the same. I really couldn't taste any of those seasonings distinctly, which was fine. I think this would benefit from the addition of a sweetener (like honey or orange marmalade) and red pepper flakes (or whole dried red peppers like restaurants use). My husband wasn't wowed by the flavor, and I wasn't really exactly impressed either. But, this was ready to eat at 5:30, but I had to turn it to "warm" and leave it for several more hours due to a family emergency. That this recipe survived being overcooked by 2-3 hours and still gets a 4 says good things for it. Give it a shot if you like these flavors. Served this chopped up over brown rice, as written makes PLENTY of sauce. Thanks for the recipe! (Photo coming soon.) P.S.--I too tested this recipe using the LIGHT version of this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
The first thing out of my husbands mouth was "YUMMY", so I know it was a hit. Fixed it exactly as written(found the garlic ginger paste at Woodmans). I did take the juice, put it in a saucepan, add cornstarch and cooked it until thick. Poured that over the chicken that I served over rice. It was delicious and the recipe will go into my Favorites folder! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this dish this week for my son and my Thai exchange student. I wanted to cook something that would meet our American taste as well as satisfy his Thai cravings. I followed the recipe exactly. It was promptly named "nasty chicken" by my exchange student and my son and has been the joke of our house for a week. It did get eaten with generous amounts of BBQ sauce. I'm giving it 2 stars because if you are not looking for a "Thai" dish it is palatable for most American tastes. It was easy to make as the title says. However, if you are looking for a "Thai" meal this does NOT do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I used 6 whole breasts of chicken and still had a lot of sauce left over. I also added extra chili paste (it wasn't nearly spicy enough for us) and served it over asian noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was tasty and oh so easy! I only used half the bottle of salad dressing, and doubled the chile paste. I found ginger garlic paste in my grocery's Indian section (Laxmi Brand). I used skinless chicken thighs, and marinated them overnight in the fridge in the sauce. Cooked on low for 6 hours--1 hour before serving, I deboned the chicken and put it back in the sauce on low. It pretty much thickened up on its own. Served with seasoned sushi rice and an Asian veg medley. Not authentic, but good nonetheless. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good and easy. I love thai peanut chicken and my family loves it. I think I would rather have it cooked in a wok w/ bell peppers and to make my sauece from scratch, but for a quickiet this recipe was okay. I did add cilantro, green onions, additional minced garlic, red pepper flakes , soy sauce, and cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I love Thai food, and this was a perfect make-at-home substitute. I like to use Ken's Steakhouse Asian-Sesame dressing, and it's light, which is nice. I use about 1 and 1/2 cups. I didn't have ginger-garlic paste, so I use garlic instead. Also, once the chicken is cooked, I add in julienne bell pepper and carrots and let them cook for 20-30 minutes. Serve over rice - soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States