Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We were wanting some spicy chicken...this was really good, did not change the recipe but did not "measure" ingredients! The dish was still juicy & delicious! I paired it with poblanos & mexican rice...mmmmm! =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This recipe was easy, low calorie and delicious! I did adjust the heat level by using just 1/2 tbsp of cayenne and I only had Frank's hot sauce on hand but that worked out fine as well. I will be making this spicy chicken again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this last night using habenero sauce for my hot sauce. This is a super hot sauce, and I used the same amount as recommended for twice as much chicken. It was still too much! I will use the leftovers for tacos and cut the spice with cheese, etc. It came out very moist and the texture was great, but it was too hot - and we love hot food! Pay better attention than I did to the type of hot sauce you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked this alot, so simple and really good! I had bone in chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! I made some minor changes based on others advice. I doubled the brown sugar and only used 1/2 Tbls of the cayenne. For added tang and zip I splashed in about a Tbls of apple cider vinegar, not sure if it changed it much but it had a nice tang to it. I used boneless chicken thighs and then shredded it for soft tacos, it was so tender. My teenage son loved it and said it could even be spicier so next time I may just go for the whole Tbls! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
A good authentic mexican taco sauce is key to this delicious chicken. I used Rosarita- salsa taquera which is as authentic as you can get from the store (in my opinion) Now the salsa you want to use is not the same kind you use to dip your chips in. This is more of a taco sauce, the kind where you can see all the seeds from the ground up chili peppers. (hope you all know what im talking about ;) My salsa was very hot so i reduced the amount of cayenne by more than half and im glad i did. This was very good! I basted frequently and broiled for the last 5 mins or so. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
almost gave this 5 stars if only for the fact that it nearly took my hubby's head clean off -- and he considers himself a hot&spicy heavtweight! will definitely make again but will turn down the heat level (a tad for us, alot for "mere mortals"). quick, simple and loads of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Fixed this tonight. Boyfriend loved the sauce! Now he wants me to make the sauce for other things. He likes wings so I'll try it on wings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yummy!! It was quick, it was easy, and it definitely cleared my sinuses! I made it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs then I followed the directions exactly (expect I used a different brand of Mexican-style hot sauce since I already had it in my cupboard). I made some brown rice and put some of the extra sauce on it. l will absolutely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this was a great and easy recipe to make and delicious to eat! i used chicken leg quarters which required a longer cooking time than in the recipe - i also omitted the brown sugar and added a little taco seasoning mix just for the heck of it. overall - amazing! will definitely make again because it was quick and easy and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States