Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked this alot, so simple and really good! I had bone in chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this last night using habenero sauce for my hot sauce. This is a super hot sauce, and I used the same amount as recommended for twice as much chicken. It was still too much! I will use the leftovers for tacos and cut the spice with cheese, etc. It came out very moist and the texture was great, but it was too hot - and we love hot food! Pay better attention than I did to the type of hot sauce you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yummy!! It was quick, it was easy, and it definitely cleared my sinuses! I made it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs then I followed the directions exactly (expect I used a different brand of Mexican-style hot sauce since I already had it in my cupboard). I made some brown rice and put some of the extra sauce on it. l will absolutely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I used Tapatio because that's my husband's favorite and let it marinate all day. It was very good and super spicy. I loved it and, more importantly, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Made this about a week ago. Went easy on the cayenne, about a third of a TBsp. The wife thought it might be too hot, it was not. Next time I will go with a bit more then half a TBsp see how that goes. Everyone liked this, it is a definite repeat. Made it again. The wife had steak, she does not like too spicy, so her son and I ate shared it. The sauce does not thicken up for me for some reason. This is the third time I have made it and the sauce always comes out like soup, although I have not tried a higher temp or longer cook time or both. I think I will try a higher temp when I make it next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! I made some minor changes based on others advice. I doubled the brown sugar and only used 1/2 Tbls of the cayenne. For added tang and zip I splashed in about a Tbls of apple cider vinegar, not sure if it changed it much but it had a nice tang to it. I used boneless chicken thighs and then shredded it for soft tacos, it was so tender. My teenage son loved it and said it could even be spicier so next time I may just go for the whole Tbls! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
So easy! I used bone-in, skinless thighs and Valentina hot sauce - followed recipe exactly. Quite spicy and very tender. I served with long grain brown rice + sauteed vegetables (carrots, onion, zuch, corn, chickpeas ...) Will make again and again. Great recipe with only 5 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
almost gave this 5 stars if only for the fact that it nearly took my hubby's head clean off -- and he considers himself a hot&spicy heavtweight! will definitely make again but will turn down the heat level (a tad for us, alot for "mere mortals"). quick, simple and loads of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe as is. It was a little on the spiceier side. It was good, but the sauce didn't thicken as I intended it would. If I would try this recipe again, I would add additional brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Loved it because I love spicy food and actually didn't think it'd be spicy enough for me. It definitely was, just felt like it was missing something, so I dipped it in some fat-free ranch, which cooled it down a little and made it taste even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindseyA615

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States