Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe turned out pretty good. I was happy with the amount of spice-- made my lips burn a bit, so that was great! I expected the spicy sauce to penetrate the chicken a bit more (if I have cooked more chicken in the past, I probably would've known not to expect this), but it turned out to just coat the skin. I might make it again, although I'd be interested in getting the sauce to penetrate the chicken some more. Made it for my husband and a couple friends and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt Kaczorowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Fixed this tonight. Boyfriend loved the sauce! Now he wants me to make the sauce for other things. He likes wings so I'll try it on wings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Had to use Frank's hot sauce, as it was what I had. Also cut the cayenne pepper to 1 tsp. It was plenty hot. Will make again with mexican hot sauce to see the difference, but was wonderful, none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked this alot, so simple and really good! I had bone in chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this last night using habenero sauce for my hot sauce. This is a super hot sauce, and I used the same amount as recommended for twice as much chicken. It was still too much! I will use the leftovers for tacos and cut the spice with cheese, etc. It came out very moist and the texture was great, but it was too hot - and we love hot food! Pay better attention than I did to the type of hot sauce you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willa Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yummy!! It was quick, it was easy, and it definitely cleared my sinuses! I made it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs then I followed the directions exactly (expect I used a different brand of Mexican-style hot sauce since I already had it in my cupboard). I made some brown rice and put some of the extra sauce on it. l will absolutely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I used Tapatio because that's my husband's favorite and let it marinate all day. It was very good and super spicy. I loved it and, more importantly, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Made this about a week ago. Went easy on the cayenne, about a third of a TBsp. The wife thought it might be too hot, it was not. Next time I will go with a bit more then half a TBsp see how that goes. Everyone liked this, it is a definite repeat. Made it again. The wife had steak, she does not like too spicy, so her son and I ate shared it. The sauce does not thicken up for me for some reason. This is the third time I have made it and the sauce always comes out like soup, although I have not tried a higher temp or longer cook time or both. I think I will try a higher temp when I make it next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! I made some minor changes based on others advice. I doubled the brown sugar and only used 1/2 Tbls of the cayenne. For added tang and zip I splashed in about a Tbls of apple cider vinegar, not sure if it changed it much but it had a nice tang to it. I used boneless chicken thighs and then shredded it for soft tacos, it was so tender. My teenage son loved it and said it could even be spicier so next time I may just go for the whole Tbls! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
So easy! I used bone-in, skinless thighs and Valentina hot sauce - followed recipe exactly. Quite spicy and very tender. I served with long grain brown rice + sauteed vegetables (carrots, onion, zuch, corn, chickpeas ...) Will make again and again. Great recipe with only 5 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States