Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I'm the type to like to try new things I made this but I added a few minor details I made chicken thighs and drumsticks people don't be afraid to try new things. Think outside the box!!! My family Is very big on favor so I found this dish lacking a bit of that. I added all the ingredients but I didn't go by measurements I went by how much was tolerant and when tasting as I went on. I actually tripled the brown sugar I know that's not good for oh well. As I was making an over spicy chicken I went tasting as a continued, I added a bit of wine to distract the over spicy taste. I'm weird I know anywho I added touch of seasoning just sprinkle a bit. Before anything I preheated the oven to bake 400 for 5-10 mins didn't time it I left my chicken till i feel like it was properly cooked I tasted as I cooked. It was pretty good, A msg from the wise DONOT COOK WITHOUT TASTING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlette Cabreja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber James
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Yummy I did it a little different I used Jamaican hot sauce and it is VERY spicy so I used more brown sugar. The result was a sweet taste then a bust of spice yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Woah this is spicy! I had 8 chicken thighs and doubled the sauce. BUT I only put in 1/2 tbsp. cayenne pepper. I couldn't imagine it full strength. I also always pull the skin off before baking. I thought it turned out delicious, but the fiancé thought it was too spicy. (After the first two bites, he went to the bathroom and grabbed a prilosec!) Served it with Spicy Spanish Style Rice by Chef John from this site. A great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was good. Not great, but good flavor. Personally, I'd prefer to see this sauce used as a chicken wing sauce as opposed to baking the chicken thighs in it. I'm picky with thighs and (if not BBQing) always cut, pull, and wash away as much as the fat as possible. Even then, as someone else mentioned, when making as directed, the sauce was too diluted with fat from the chicken (and I was particularly careful with these). We did scale cayenne down to 1/2 T and I threw in a little honey along with the brown sugar (about a tsp or so). We ended up removing from the sauce, separating the fat from the sauce, then brushed more of the remaining sauce on top while running under the broiler to crisp it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe!Spicy food is my all time fav,and this is my NEW fav;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Awesome. I rarely find recipes spicy enough for my gf, but this one fit the bill. I had a beer on hand to drown the spice. :) Made this slightly different, I browned the thighs in a cast-iron skillet, poured the sauce over, and baked them uncovered in the skillet. Had a thermometer on them and it took about 20 minutes in the oven that way. I boiled down the sauce after I took the skillet out of the oven and poured it back over the chicken (and over some couscous and corn I'd made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I'm making this for the second time (in a month) tonight. I positively love how you can change up the spice and sweetness and its so super easy! I mix all my ingredients in one big bowl and just dip the chicken through it then pour all the remaining sauce on top. I double the hot sauce and brown sugar and keep all other measurements the same (I usually make 8 pieces at a time). I cook it in a glass covered pyrex baking dish then uncover it for the last 25 mins. This is definitely a keeper for a quick easy meal. Tonight I'm making it with legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
1. The sauce will never thicken. Chicken thighs have a lot of fat and fat drippings do not thicken when cooked. 2.Sauce was good, right amount of spice. 3.Bone in chicken thighs cook longer than 40 minutes at 400 degrees. Besides, who actually eats 1 chicken thigh for dinner? Our chicken was still red and bleeding near the bone. Cook for an hour at 400. Also, the skin was soggy and a little slimy, which is another reason to cook them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I used a combination of hot sauce and taco sauce, I was trying to keep the spice down a bit so the kids would eat it. And they loved it! Luckily I made a triple batch of legs and thighs because four pieces wouldn't have been nearly enough. I've made it several times since, and I don't measure, just dump it all in a bowl and roll the chicken around in it before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used part Chilulo and part Frank's Red Hot plus doubled the brown sugar. Had a bit of kick but not too much. I may go spicier next time but this was a very simple and easy recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Benson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States