Easy Spicy Mexican-American Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I'm making this for the second time (in a month) tonight. I positively love how you can change up the spice and sweetness and its so super easy! I mix all my ingredients in one big bowl and just dip the chicken through it then pour all the remaining sauce on top. I double the hot sauce and brown sugar and keep all other measurements the same (I usually make 8 pieces at a time). I cook it in a glass covered pyrex baking dish then uncover it for the last 25 mins. This is definitely a keeper for a quick easy meal. Tonight I'm making it with legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
1. The sauce will never thicken. Chicken thighs have a lot of fat and fat drippings do not thicken when cooked. 2.Sauce was good, right amount of spice. 3.Bone in chicken thighs cook longer than 40 minutes at 400 degrees. Besides, who actually eats 1 chicken thigh for dinner? Our chicken was still red and bleeding near the bone. Cook for an hour at 400. Also, the skin was soggy and a little slimy, which is another reason to cook them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I used a combination of hot sauce and taco sauce, I was trying to keep the spice down a bit so the kids would eat it. And they loved it! Luckily I made a triple batch of legs and thighs because four pieces wouldn't have been nearly enough. I've made it several times since, and I don't measure, just dump it all in a bowl and roll the chicken around in it before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used part Chilulo and part Frank's Red Hot plus doubled the brown sugar. Had a bit of kick but not too much. I may go spicier next time but this was a very simple and easy recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Benson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
if you love spicy food this is a great recipe. I used Tapatio hotsause and just added a little bit more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Awesome! I did not change a thing but increasing the amount of chicken and sauce. I put 8 small, boneless, skinless chicken thighs in an 8x8 baking dish. For the last 5 minutes or so I flipped them over to really immerse them. Paired with Mexican Rice III on allrecipes and corn cake - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very easy and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is great!!!! So few ingredients but such HUGE flavor! I just happened to have the Valentina sauce the recipe suggest and I think it's perfect. The recipe should suggest to serve with rice (which I just happened to make) to serve with the delicious sauce left in the pan. Very spicy though, but we loved it! Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was grub! We used the leftover chicken for tacos the next night. My guy suggested using our homemade habanero hot sauce. "No", the reviews said habanero was too much. Thank goodness for reviews. They help you to adapt w/ what you have. So, we used a coupla 1/2 bottles of hot sauce plus some some homemade thai pepper hot sauce. We skinned our chicken leg quarters, basted them shortly after removing foil cover, w/ sauce from bottom of dish (thickening nicely). Our 4 leg quarters were big so we doubled the sauce, but only used 2 tablespoons of cayenne for sauce, used 4 tablespoons of brown sugar. Next time, will use a bit more cayenne, and less brown sugar. We steamed some brown rice and there was enough left over to make lunchbox burritos and taco dinner the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I doubled the recipe the first time I made it and 2 tablespoons of cayenne was way too hot! Next time I made it using a tablespoon even for the doubled recipe and it came out great. Still very spicy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States