Easy Spicy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was just so so. I was really excited about this recipe. I am a huge fan of chicken and rice and a huge fan of Ro-Tel tomatoes. I figured "what could be better than combining the two?". I was wrong. I guess I was hoping it would taste a little more like a King Ranch Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Black Hein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Yum! This was very tasty. I didn't have chile peppers so I added 2 tbs of pique de limon and sazon goya seasoning. I also had to bake for maybe 1/2 hour longer than the recipe said because of the rice but it came out wonderful!! family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bings2008

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My fiancee picked this dish out one night for dinner. We loved it, it took an hour to bake and it was kinda spicy but i will know to use different tomatoes for us next time. I did add some things to make it a little more to our liking I used all the ingredients called for but I cut our chicken up, added some frozen veggies (about handful of each corn,peas,carrots and greenbeans) I also added onion and garlic powder and a can of water.I was going to add sour cream but my fiancee has to watch his dairy intake so i skipped on that i did sprinkle some shreaded cheese on mine! mmm very yummy thanks for this simple good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
We thought this was just OK. I had to cook it almost an hour and a half to get the rice tender. It wasn't really all that spicy. We thought it was just sort of blah. Probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was really good and really easy. However, I found it to be a little too wet for my liking, so next time I'll probably drain the tomatoes or maybe add more rice. Also, I like spicy, so I added about a tablespoon of cayenne pepper and about a cup of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Of course, I put my own little spin on it. I was craving a stew of sorts...so I prepared this on the stovetop and used a can of diced tomatoes w/ jalepenos (b/c that's what I had in the cabinet). It was quick, easy, and DELICIOUS!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was great! Everyone loved it. I tried to stay with the recipe, but used 1 1/2 cups rice because I wanted to make more. Then used TWO cans cream of chicken and the diced whole jalapeno pepper. It was perfect, just a bit spicy (I don't see how it would be spicy without the jalapeno). I actually stirred the rice during cooking, not disturbing the chicken tenders. Had to add more water (total about 1 can). Then I added shredded cheddar about 5 minutes before serving. Just a great Mexican-creamy casserole! Thanks for this very easy recipe -- the magic ingredients: diced tomatoes with chilies and cream of chicken soup. Lots of possibilities for other additives: corn tortillas, sour cream; who knows?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My family really loved this dish - everyone had seconds! It was very easy but I did modify it a little. I used Goya Arroz Amarillo (yellow rice with seasoning), Rotel, and chicken tenders marinated in Italian dressing. It cooked perfectly in exactly 45 minutes. I topped the whole thing with a mixture of crushed "Red Hot Blues" tortilla chips and grated pepper jack cheese. Then browned it under the broiler for another 6-8 minutes......BIG HIT! The chicken was very tender, the rice was delicious and it was just spicey enough - this will be a frequent flyer at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I also took the suggestion of adding 1/2 sour cream to the mixture and sprinkled a little taco seasonging on the chicken. Was very easy & delish. A nice one pot meal - you don't need to do the mixture in a bowl just simply stir it all in a casserole dish and then place chicken on top. One thing I would do next time is add the chicken after the rice mixture has been cooking about 10 mins to avoid dryness. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
VERY Good. Additions: 1/2c Sour Cream, 1/4c Mild Taco Sauce, Minute Rice. Last 15min. Sprinkled with Monterey Jack Cheese & Fresh Tomato slices. Turned out Perfect, great leftovers too! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States