Easy Spicy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
not bad, but not great either. I added greeen beans and corn which was a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed some of the reviews for this recipe and mine turned out great! I added some sour cream to the mixture and since I didn't have any rotel or diced chiles I just used some mild jarred salsa (my husband doesn't like things too spicy anyway) and it was great! Nothing too fancy, but a good recipe to fall back on when time is tight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is a delicious quick dish to throw together after work, let it bake while you relax for a bit. Like some other users I used Rotel tomatoes and added some extras to taste - sour cream, onion powder and fresh garlic. At the end of the bake time, I topped it with French's Fried Onions and put it back in uncovered for 5 minutes. Added a nice little crunch! This is definitely going into the dinner menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K2
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used this recipe basically as a guideline - definitely add some water in before baking. The first time I made it, I put in very little water and ended up having to add water after 45 minutes and then baking for an additional 20 minutes until the rice was done. Probably using minute rice would solve this problem. I don't make it with the tomatoes and green chiles. Instead, I put the water, rice, and soup into a big bowl and mix in some defrosted vegetables, as well as cut up carrots and potatoes. Really you could put whatever you wanted into it. I add whatever spices I feel like - garlic powder, curry powder, cayenne, etc... and then cover it with foil and throw it in the oven. It's a great simple way to make a one pan dish. Definitely something I'll continue to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenF88
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I put Pillsbury croissant dough on top for the last 15-20 minutes of cooking. It was cooked and crispy on top but kinda mushy on the bottom but it was reaaalllly good! I also added onions, mushrooms, shredded cheddar cheese, and a dollop of sour cream to the medium bowl mix step. SO good!!!!!!!!!!!! I didn't have any crunchy rice problems, but I did use instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenF88

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I also tweaked this quite a bit. First, I didn't have any creamed soups in the house, so I used my own chicken broth and thickened it a bit with corn starch. And since I was using the Rotel tomatoes & chiles, I thought corn and cheese would be nice additions, so that's what I did. Next time I'd just add more cheese and this will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Loved this... but I also revised it a bit. I used minute rice as suggested and seasoned the chicken with some fajita seasoning and taco bell hot sauce (I love spice!). Added sour cream and the tortilla chips and cheese towards the end- I couldn't imagine the recipe without the chips and cheese. Makes a world of difference especially since the rice portion is kind of creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corymia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was easy and delicious. I browned the chicken and cut up in pieces. Used lite sour cream as suggested and low fat soups and brown rice. I sprinkled a little grated cheddar cheese over top. Would probably add some tortille chips on top next time as it could stand some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I do let it cook a little longer but very quick and easy. Kids request it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good, I diced and browned the chicken and used instant (boil in bag) rice. I also added a little onion and 1/2 cup sour cream and a cup of chedder before baking. With about five minutes left top it with some crushed tortilla chips, black olives, and enough cheese to just cover the top. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileysdad1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States