Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I used chicken stock and added onion soup mix! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Simple, yet tastey. Ck broth makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Instead of plain water, I used homemade chicken stock. I also used a good amount ground cumin instead of cumin seed. I made no other changes. The little ones liked this but my husband and I didn't much care for it. I'll make it again for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I can't rate it accurately because I changed it a bit. I sauteed a small onion and 2 cups frozen corn in olive oil and added 1 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro to a family size boil in bag package of brown rice (cooked in 1 quart water with 4 chicken boullion cubes). Loved it this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. I doubled the spices and made with chicken broth, but it was still a tad bland. Next time I will definitely add something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was great, but I made a few changes as I didn't have cilantro or cumin seeds. I added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water, added garlic and onion powder, and 1 tsp of dried cumin. It may not be visually striking, but great on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very bland. I added oregano and hot sauce, and it still wasn't enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe for brown rice which, I think, can tend to be rather dull, otherwise. The only changes I made was to lightly brown the rice in the olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I followed others' advice and used chicken stock in place of the water. I also did not have cilantro, so I didn't use it. I used frozen peas instead of corn and used ground cumin. I know I made quite a few changes, but it turned out so delicious. I am sure I will use this recipe frequently when making brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Tumlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was pretty good! I doubled the recipe because I didn't believe that only 1 cup of rice would have been enough for 2 people (I was wrong). It was more than enough! The only thing was I think it could have done without the cilantro...maybe that is just my personal taste, though. I also used vegetable broth instead of water as some others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I prepared this with quinoa instead of brown rice in the interest of time. The protein is a great bonus too. Otherwise, I followed it exactly. It turned out wonderful and even my 4 year old who won't eat quinoa generally loved this. It was meant to be a side dish next to the tacos I made, but everyone loved it IN the tacos. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Lynn
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States