Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Too bland for our taste buds. It smelled wonderful while cooking but lacked any of the spiced flavors. Followed the recipe, disappointed. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I did not have Cilantro, so I just put a little parsley in it. I also cut up an onion and threw it in there as well. I used ground Cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I added chopped mild jalapeno peppers, and omitted the cilantro (not a fan). This was a delicious side dish to a chicken enchilada casserole. Nutty, yet the peppers and corn added sweet crunch! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
It looked like fried rice, but the initial taste was disappointing. The texture was good. I used speckled butter beans instead of corn, since that's was on hand, and basil instead of cilantro. I put juices from the slow cooker BBQ chicken on the rice and this helped the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYB75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I like this as a side dish even though the flavor or "spice" is pretty subtle. It goes well with tacos or burritos or any Mexican meal, and it feels good to have something healthy to pair with those meaty-cheesy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I used cumin powder since I didn't have cumin seed, minced fresh garlic and it was delicious. Easy just like the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was pretty good! Everyone liked it at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Maybe if I were in a more generous mood, I might give this four stars, but it would be cutting it close. It was just okay. The corn was an interesting addition, but there was nothing "spiced" about it really. Maybe if it had other spices? But then again, with rice, you're not usually looking for a lot of flavor, so maybe that's the way it's meant to be. Just didn't work for our family. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I made this stuff to go with the Chicken Balsamic off this site- went together really nicely. We were out of cilantro, so I used basil instead. The spices arn't overpowering- it was a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njohns19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States