Easy Spiced Brown Rice With Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I used chicken stock and added onion soup mix! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Simple, yet tastey. Ck broth makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Instead of plain water, I used homemade chicken stock. I also used a good amount ground cumin instead of cumin seed. I made no other changes. The little ones liked this but my husband and I didn't much care for it. I'll make it again for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I can't rate it accurately because I changed it a bit. I sauteed a small onion and 2 cups frozen corn in olive oil and added 1 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro to a family size boil in bag package of brown rice (cooked in 1 quart water with 4 chicken boullion cubes). Loved it this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. I doubled the spices and made with chicken broth, but it was still a tad bland. Next time I will definitely add something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was great, but I made a few changes as I didn't have cilantro or cumin seeds. I added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water, added garlic and onion powder, and 1 tsp of dried cumin. It may not be visually striking, but great on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very bland. I added oregano and hot sauce, and it still wasn't enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe for brown rice which, I think, can tend to be rather dull, otherwise. The only changes I made was to lightly brown the rice in the olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I followed others' advice and used chicken stock in place of the water. I also did not have cilantro, so I didn't use it. I used frozen peas instead of corn and used ground cumin. I know I made quite a few changes, but it turned out so delicious. I am sure I will use this recipe frequently when making brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JATUMLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was pretty good! I doubled the recipe because I didn't believe that only 1 cup of rice would have been enough for 2 people (I was wrong). It was more than enough! The only thing was I think it could have done without the cilantro...maybe that is just my personal taste, though. I also used vegetable broth instead of water as some others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I prepared this with quinoa instead of brown rice in the interest of time. The protein is a great bonus too. Otherwise, I followed it exactly. It turned out wonderful and even my 4 year old who won't eat quinoa generally loved this. It was meant to be a side dish next to the tacos I made, but everyone loved it IN the tacos. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Lynn
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States