Easy Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe although I didn't use any cornmeal, instead, I used Panko crumbs. I find that the cornmeal gives it a heavier taste and holds more oil than panko crumbs do. I also gave them a quick spin in the blender to make them a bit finer. It worked like a charm. I added some cayenne pepper to the flour and left the salt out until the minute I took them out of the pan. I placed them on a rack on a rimmed baking sheet so that the air could circulate around them and put them into a preheated oven of 275F while I cooked off the rest of them. WOW! They are AMAZING and were perfectly browned AND not greasy AT ALL! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Such an easy recipe. My fried green tomatoes turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I added a little cayenne pepper to the flower to spice it up a bit. The batter sticks to the tomato slices well. I saved this to use again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Pruitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Well, this is the closest as I've been able to find to my grandmother's recipe. I,,,,we only have fried green tomatoes when we have Catfish and hushpuppies. I salt the slices for a while and dab off the water. Then I put them in flour and let them set for a while. Before making the hushpuppies, I dredge the catfish in the cornmeal/salt and pepper, and let them set a while. I then dredge the tomatoes in the flour and let them set. I set the table and heat up the deep fryer, then I dip the tomatoes into the egg/milk (instead of water) and then into the cornmeal. I let them set. Each time you let the flour or cornmeal set, it "glues" itself to the food. I then mix up the flour egg/milk and cornmeal with some baking powder and minced onion, onion powder and make the hushpuppy dough. Well, I got off the subject, but I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
2 cups of cornmeal to the 1 cup of flour if you want that "gritty" the Southerns go for. Everyone prefers them differently though. I am from Missouri and so were my grandma's. One did them 2 parts flour to one part cornmeal and the other did 2 parts cornmeal to one part flour so it is just a matter of personal preference I suppose. Either way, the one thing I recommend is lightly salting them right out of the fryer and eat them while they are hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This Carolina Girl LOVED it! Add a dash of salt as soon as they come out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My mom and grandmother used to make these.They were very good.I made them for my husband who had never tried them.He thought they were different but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Easy, tangy, and tasty. Make sure you slice your tomatoes thin, so they cook through and through. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States