Easy Sour Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for my family. I put graham cracker crust instead. It was super easy. Just a hint for warming up the cream cheese to make it soft to work with .Take the cream cheese out of the boxes leave the foil on and put in hot water for about 10 minutes. Make sure the foil is sealed. It warms it up then you don't have to wait to get to room temperature it is done in a matter of minutes. I do the same with eggs as well. I leave the eggs in the shell in warm water for about 10 minutes and it does the job. I will keep this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Pretty good cheesecake recipe. My usual recipe uses more cream cheese so I used this one. I used a graham crust in a springform pan. I always bake my cheesecakes for like 15 minutes at 450 then reduce the oven temp to 250-275 and bake for like another 45min. Then I turn the oven off and let it cool in there for an hour or so. Then place in frige overnight. This way there is no crack and it will be perfectly creamy, no water bath needed!! If I make this again I'd probably add a tablespoon of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I've tried this now 2 times. Both times I did not use the crust. I used the SplendaBlend (half sugar-half Splenda) and low fat sour cream and low fat cream cheese. I bake it in a 9" nonstick round metal cake pan that I liberally spray with Butter Flavored Pam. First time it cracked, second time it didn't. I don't mind the cracking though because I like the rustic look. (Doesn't look machine made to me) I baked at 325 for 70 minutes. It come out to about 135 calories per serving if the cake is cut in 12's. So Rich that is all I need! I'm thinking about serving it with berries today for color. I really enjoy this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALSART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
DO NOT ADD LEMON JUICE! It will destroy your cheesecake. The thirteen people who rated the review that suggested that as helpful obviously did not follow the suggestion of adding lemon juice. It will react badly with the sour cream and the end result will be a mushy, dense, flat, and acidic desert that is not entirely unlike cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is the BEST cheesecake I've ever had. And it is especially awesome since I made it with all fat-free dairy, 2 egg whites, and Splenda! Awesome! I made this into 4 "mini" cheesecakes without crusts, so it only cooked for about 50 minutes. I keep different fruits cut up in the fridge for a different topping every day. Thank you for my new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this for easter, it went over very well! I made my own crust with graham cracker crumbs (I didn't have a shortbread crust on hand, I'm sure that would be even better) and used low fat cream cheese (that neufetchetel sp stuff) and low fat sour cream, and it was still great! I decorated the top with strawberries and blueberries and my dessert was first to fly off the table (even before the double chocolate oreo cookie pie!) Nice and light after a big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I was very determined to find a cheesecake recipe that had only 1 cup of sour cream since that was all I had on hand. I was a little skeptical about this but gave it a go anyway. Oh.my.goodness.!! It was velvety smooth, creamy with the perfect amount of sweetness and a hint of vanilla. The shortbread cookie crust is a great idea, it set the cake off nicely. For those of you who are having problems with cracking, bring your cream cheese, eggs and sour cream to room temp. The cream cheese must be perfectly soft; if you're pressed for time soak the packages in warm water and squish flat until warmed through. Mix the batter as little as possible-just until everything is blended. I've made this twice now and it's perfect. Quick, easy and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Wonderful - better than a restuarant! I made it for a special occation and it was perfect. Although I did make it with a biscuit base, the cheesecake was rich but not too sweet. I cooked it in a waterbath for the time stated and it didn't crack or burn. Recommended with pleasure - Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Very easy to make, but does tend to crack, so if you are serving it for a dinner party, use a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This was the first time I ever made cheesecake. This recipe was easy and delicious! I made it a second time using a graham cracker crust, it was also a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States