Easy Sour Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've been cooking a long, long time but this was my first attempt at cheesecake. My husband requested one for Easter. I picked this recipe simply because it called for the amount of cream cheese I happened to have. I made a graham cracker crust but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It turned out perfect and was embarrassingly easy to make. I'll use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I can't believe how easy this was to make! It turned out great! I used a store bought graham cracker crust instead of the shortbread one though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smeyer1756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I never thought I would be able to make a cheese cake this good. The only thing I would add is that it is almost a must that your cream cheese is at room temperature. If you fail to leave it out long enough, put it in the microwave for 45 sec to 1 minute. Of course take it out of the foil packaging first. Oh, and it does crack, but I don't mind because I always top it with fruit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this for Christmas dinner today. It was wonderfully delicious! I creamed the cream cheese and sugar for a long time in my standing mixer (about 5 min on med/high speed). It made it very light and fluffy. I thought perfect. I seemed to have an abundance left over after filling the pie shell, so not sure if that was from creaming it so long or what but I could almost have made two wonderful pies, in fact I could have had I not overfilled the first one a little. I cooked it for 70 min. It did crack a little, but it was toasty brown on top and cooled and settled beautifully. I was impressed with my first attempt a cheesecake. It was a hit and so yummy!! Thanks for the recipe. I will make two next time out of this recipe and maybe try the graham cracker crust with one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofasher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Wow-- I am so glad I made this fabulous cheesecake, but I'm going back to graham cracker crusts. The idea of two sticks of butter in addition to 16 oz cream cheese and 8 oz sour cream makes me feel too guilty, and I don't like fat-free sour cream. For a topping, I used a potato masher on strawberries and cooked them with sugar to pour over individual pieces; it was a very good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Just a hint to those who've ever had their Cheesecake crack: Place a cake pan, half filled with boiled water in bottom of oven while cheesecake bakes. I helps keep the oven moist & cheesecake is less likely to crack! Good luck & Have a Happy Holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was my first time making cheesecake, and I was very pleasantly surprised at how this recipe turned out. I spent a lot of time reading the reviews and didn't see that anyone had used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, but I opted for it anyways, and it was great! I cooked it for 80 minutes at 325 degrees because I put it in a roasting pan with water so it wouldn't crack, and it didn't. I also added a teaspoon of lemon juice. The texture is lighter than some of the richer cheesecakes I've tried so I didn't feel as guilty eating it! Next time I will make with lowfat cream cheese. I also wanted to mention that I didn't have a springform pan, and baked it in a non-stick cake pan instead, and it was fine. I was just making it for me and the husband, but it came out of the pan fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Not impressed! On taste alone it was Delicious! It wasn't as smooth as I like my cheesecake. texture was off for me.I don't think ill try this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Very good. I added a tsp or so of lemon juice b/c it was a bit sweet for me. Didn't use a crust (didn't have one) and halved the recipe. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
made this with my son (9) super easy way to intruduce him to baking... best of all it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States