Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I actually doubled the recipe and added some Rancher's Steak Rub by Wildtree to the original recipe (since no salt/pepper was called for). These meatballs turned out marvelous. I got raving reviews from my guests and I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
best tasting meatballs i have ever eaten-texture quite different without browning first but this is not a negative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe. did do a little tweeking. I used half Italian sausage and half beef. Cut the bread crumbs back to 3/4 cup and added some parmesan cheese. used tomato sauce instaed of puree. and like the other reviewers, I baked the meatballs for about 20 mins prior to the crockpot..Turned out very good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made the meatballs on Sunday morning. I actually doubled everything except the onion. There was quite a bit of onion in the batch and I am glad that I did not double it. I am not a big onion fan but the flavor was perfect. I ended up with 60+ meatballs (about golf ball sized). I did add a bit of italian seasoning into the mix as well, otherwise everything was as written. WONDERFUL! I put them in the crock pot on Monday afternoon and they were cooked perfectly and had a wonderful flavor to them. I actually froze three batches of meatballs for future use. Each batch had about 16 meatballs. Will be perfect for a fall / winter meal. :) Thank you so much for this recipe. My hubby even mentioned that it is by far one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Added about an extra half pound of hamburger and added about a 1/4 cup of merlot to the sauce. Everyone loved it except my boy but he liked it - which is significant since he doesn't like much of anything :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe! I used a jar of Bertolli Oil and Garlic spaghetti sauce and 2 cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic in place of the crushed tomatoes and tomato puree, and the sauce was fantastic! I personally like fewer onions and very finely chopped. I have passed this recipe on to my sister! Will definitely be making crockpot meatballs from now on...no more baking or frying. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Four stars as written (as everyone has repeatedly said, waaaaay too much bread crumbs called for in original recipe!). I cut the bread crumbs down to 1/2 cup and added another 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Also, any dish with tomatoes screams for basil. It must be used in this recipe. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried basil (fresh would be even better!), a DASH of oregano (this herb is very overpowering, so unless you really love it, only add a dash or you will be unhappy). The parsley called for is also a bit excessive. I cut it down to 1/8 cup. I doubled the garlic and onion and used lean, ground turkey. One last thing, add a dash of sugar or a cap full of whiskey to your tomato sauce. (If you use whiskey, remember it is a CAP full, not a cup full! lol. I hate the smell and taste of whiskey, but it blends in with the sauce and you will never know it's in there, but it does mellow out the sauce beautifully!) Okay, I know this was a LOT of changes, but this recipe as written has not gotten glowing reviews, and these are some changes that will take the whole dish from a bit bland and mushy to tasty and delicious with a fabulous texture to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I am reviewing this recipe but I changed a few things!! (But what I love about this site is seeing how other people's efforts turned out.) Mine was DELICIOUS. The concept is GREAT - that's what gets the 4 stars. This recipe really worked well for me. As other reviewers noted, WAY too much breadcrumbs listed - I used 1/2 cup - and I added 1/4 cup parmesan to the meat mixture. Other than that, the only change was that I used 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of spaghetti sauce (I don't buy store sauce, I always make my own, good, bad or ugly) and I added 1 tbsp of oregano and 2 tsp of basil to the sauce. I used 1 onion as listed, but I put half in the meatballs and half into the sauce. Also doubled the garlic (amt listed in meatballs, another 2 cloves in sauce) and 1/2 tsp salt b/c the tomato products I used were sodium-free. YOU MUST use lean beef - even if you skimmed this, the odd flavors imparted by beef fat (which are great in burgers) just don't work in sauce. This was a very close approximation to my homemade, 3-hour futzing in the kitchen spaghetti and meatballs, and the efforts took less than 15 minutes!! I am very impressed and will definitely use this again. Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I only added 1 cup of the bread crumbs and it was still too much. It made them mushy. Very bland recipe - no salt or seasoning in it. I thought the pasta sauce would give them more flavor but it didn't. I notice that nearly everyone had to doctor up the recipe to make it taste like something. Also, even on low, this was much too long to cook meatballs. I would never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Would it be less greasy if you used the 97/3 low fat meat? I LOVE the idea of not having to pre-cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jogoedert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States