Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe! I used a jar of Bertolli Oil and Garlic spaghetti sauce and 2 cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic in place of the crushed tomatoes and tomato puree, and the sauce was fantastic! I personally like fewer onions and very finely chopped. I have passed this recipe on to my sister! Will definitely be making crockpot meatballs from now on...no more baking or frying. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Four stars as written (as everyone has repeatedly said, waaaaay too much bread crumbs called for in original recipe!). I cut the bread crumbs down to 1/2 cup and added another 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Also, any dish with tomatoes screams for basil. It must be used in this recipe. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried basil (fresh would be even better!), a DASH of oregano (this herb is very overpowering, so unless you really love it, only add a dash or you will be unhappy). The parsley called for is also a bit excessive. I cut it down to 1/8 cup. I doubled the garlic and onion and used lean, ground turkey. One last thing, add a dash of sugar or a cap full of whiskey to your tomato sauce. (If you use whiskey, remember it is a CAP full, not a cup full! lol. I hate the smell and taste of whiskey, but it blends in with the sauce and you will never know it's in there, but it does mellow out the sauce beautifully!) Okay, I know this was a LOT of changes, but this recipe as written has not gotten glowing reviews, and these are some changes that will take the whole dish from a bit bland and mushy to tasty and delicious with a fabulous texture to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I am reviewing this recipe but I changed a few things!! (But what I love about this site is seeing how other people's efforts turned out.) Mine was DELICIOUS. The concept is GREAT - that's what gets the 4 stars. This recipe really worked well for me. As other reviewers noted, WAY too much breadcrumbs listed - I used 1/2 cup - and I added 1/4 cup parmesan to the meat mixture. Other than that, the only change was that I used 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of spaghetti sauce (I don't buy store sauce, I always make my own, good, bad or ugly) and I added 1 tbsp of oregano and 2 tsp of basil to the sauce. I used 1 onion as listed, but I put half in the meatballs and half into the sauce. Also doubled the garlic (amt listed in meatballs, another 2 cloves in sauce) and 1/2 tsp salt b/c the tomato products I used were sodium-free. YOU MUST use lean beef - even if you skimmed this, the odd flavors imparted by beef fat (which are great in burgers) just don't work in sauce. This was a very close approximation to my homemade, 3-hour futzing in the kitchen spaghetti and meatballs, and the efforts took less than 15 minutes!! I am very impressed and will definitely use this again. Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I only added 1 cup of the bread crumbs and it was still too much. It made them mushy. Very bland recipe - no salt or seasoning in it. I thought the pasta sauce would give them more flavor but it didn't. I notice that nearly everyone had to doctor up the recipe to make it taste like something. Also, even on low, this was much too long to cook meatballs. I would never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Would it be less greasy if you used the 97/3 low fat meat? I LOVE the idea of not having to pre-cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jogoedert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Too much bread crumbs for 1 1/2 lbs. of meat, used only 3/4 cup. Needs 2 eggs; and for more flavor I added 1/3 to 1/2 cup grated Romano or Parmesan cheese, 3/4 to 1 tsp. oregano or basil, and salt and pepper to taste. I added a little cayenne pepper for spice. Baked the meatballs for 20 min. on a wire rack @ 350 to 375 degrees, before putting in sauce; and only used 2 jars of sauce. I think the crushed tomatoes and tomato puree add too much liquid and no flavor, unless you add additional herbs and spices to the sauce. Cooked on low about 3 to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
The meatballs were good, but too much breadcrumbs. I don't understand why you use a "jar of sauce" when tomato sauce is nothing more than tomatoes and seasonings to begin with. Why add a jar of already made sauce when you are actually making your own with the tomatoes and puree and seasonings. What happens is that the "jar of sauce" cooked another 8 hours becomes very very strong and acidic. I think if you skip the jar sauce, this would be a great crockpot meal. I never change a recipe when I first try it so as to give an honest review, but next time I make this, I will omit the jar sauce and maybe add another can of crushed tomatoes and a little garlic and, at the end, stirring in fresh basil just before serving and that will make this a perfect tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I like the cooking method, but the sauce is really lacking. Needs many more spices. The meatballs could use some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Loved it. I took the leftover meatballs and made meatball sandwiches.. Toasted ciabatta rolls, added meatballs and mozzarella and put under broiler for second.. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gmalovesyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Rule of thumb guys, I lbs of beef, 1 egg and 1 cup of seasoned bread crumbs, now add some seasonings that you like and cook these meatballs raw in your sauce of choice. Now that's a good meatball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisx28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States