Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I had a lb. of meat so I changed the ingredient amount. Used 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, 2T parsley, 1T grated parmesan, 1tsp basil, 1 tsp. garlic, 1tsp. onion powder, and 1 egg. I did bake for 15 minutes because I had the time and it did drip a bit of grease so I am glad I did that. I used 2/3 jar of Classico sauce, 1 chopped fresh tomato, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano and 1 T italian seasoning and 1 T sugar. Good part was the meatball shape (made 10) held up. Other than that, it was bland. Any more changes is altering the recipe too much so I'd rather check out a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My daughter and her boyfriend really liked these. (I'm vegeterian, so I didn't try them.) They were easy to put together. I think next time I will make them the day before and refigerate them so it will be easier to take the grease off. I added some Italian seasoning to the sauce (about 1/2 tbsp). Be sure to chop the onion very finely or you will have meatballs with big onion chunks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I used my own sauce, but the meatballs fell apart and became mush in the crockpot. I made more of them baked in the oven (without sauce, with homemade barbeque sauce or sweet and sour sauce...) and they were great! The meatball recipe itself is nice, but it seems they just dissolve when cooked in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Sauce was very bland even after adding a lot more seasonings to it and it was very oily. The meatballs were okay, but I have had better. It is an easy meal, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmd_3216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Sauce was a little bland for my tasting. I added a lot of garlic and onion powder, italian seasoning, oregano and minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made these after my boyfriend requested I make meatballs, with a few modifications. I cooked the meatballs in the oven for about 10 minutes so they wouldn't crumble. I added 1/4 C parmesean cheese to the meatballs. I used half the onion (super finely grated) in the meatballs and half in the sauce. I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, as I didn't have a can of pureed tomatoes. I added a clove of garlic to the sauce, as well as some dried basil and powdered garlic, and snuck some super finely grated carrots in there too (gotta sneak veggies into my boyfriend's diet somehow, lol). I made some homemade grinder rolls to go with the meatballs, so my boyfriend and I enjoyed meatball grinders topped with mozzarella for dinner. He said the meatballs were awesome, but requested that I make them without the onions next time (got away with the carrots! yes!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Good meatball recipe. If I made again, I would add more spices, flavors because they were quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
i made this last week & hubby (who is EXTREMELY picky) said "i'd like it if these were in the fridge for me to snack on...at all times!!!" what more can i say? lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Definitely follow the advice to reduce the bread crumbs. It was a little overwhelming. The sauce needed a little something extra. However, overall it is a recipe worth saving to tweak to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Boy am I glad I followed the advice of others to reduce the amount of bread crumbs! Next time I will reduce it even more. This was nice and easy, though, and with a few changes it can easily be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States