Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Love how easy this was... I used less breadcrumbs and they held together great. However be sure to spice up the sauce because it is very bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great idea, and I will try these again. Mine tasted over-cooked after being in the Crock-pot all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBmermaid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe that you can doctor according to the tastes or those you are cooking for. I try to make the recipe as written the first time & base my rating on that. I gave it 4 stars because it is fine as written: easy & good tasting. The second time I made this for my small group and wanted it to be a little more special and flavorful. I added onion powder, salt & pepper, freshly grated Parmesan cheese to the meat (omitted the onions as they tend to make the meatballs fall apart & some folks don't care for the texture). I made fresh bread crumbs, mixed them with Italian seasoning and added them last to the meat. I lightly mixed the ingredients and shaped the meatballs, put them in a roasting pan in a 450 degree preheated oven and immediately lowered the temperature to 350 degrees, then baked them for 15 minutes. I placed them on paper towels & gently patted the tops with another paper towel to remove excess fat b/4 adding to the crock pot with the sauce. To the sauce I added garlic powder, grated Parmesan cheese, about 1 T. white sugar to balance the acidity of the tomatoes, parsley flakes, and Italian seasoning. An hour or so before they were done, I checked the sauce and added more Italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt & pepper and grated Parmesan to taste. I stored the crock in the refrigerator overnight, reheated it the next day and served the meatballs on rolls with a variety of peppers, pickles and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made them for a family gathering and everyone LOOVED them and still talks about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Jordan
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
They turned out way to soft and just fell apart. Not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were easy to make, held together well, nice moist texture, but very bland tasting. Needs more garlic and spice for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was so easy and my husband seriously drooled over it. He wanted it for lunch the next day and raved about it for a few days.I served the meatballs (cut in half) in hoagie rolls topped with a slice of Provelone. While I thought it tasted great, next time I would add a bit of salt to the meatballs and some italian seasoning to the sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were so easy to make! I even made them healthier with 96% lean beef and whole wheat bread crumbs and they were delicious! I will definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I love the ease of this recipe. We did think it was pretty bland though. Next time I'll spice it up with some extra italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and maybe some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I’ve given this recipe a high rating because it’s a great concept. I never thought to do this and love to use the slow cooker. I’ve been dieting for several months and I try to “slim down” my favorite foods. I used 1 LB of ground chicken breast (320 cal), ½ lb ground chicken (340 cal. for some fat), 1 cup caramelized onions & garlic (67 cal), ½ cup bread crumbs (240 cal), ½ cup Parmesan cheese (216 cal), 1 large egg (74 cal) and seasonings (garlic powder, parsley, oregano & pepper). Use the amounts of sauces and cooked the meatballs the same as listed. I made about 19 meatballs (67 calories each meatball, sauce should be measured separately). This was not oily and the meatballs were awesome over whole-wheat pasta. I’m sure the beef cooking in the sauce would give this great flavor but if you need a lower calorie / fat version, this truly is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States