Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
THIS WAS MEGALICIOUS!!! I used an uncooked smoked picnic ham. I thought it had too much liquid and my crock pot was not quite large enough so I cut down on cider, and ground cloves to 1-1/2 T. and covered it with foil but still overflowed onto counter. I mixed the spices with the brown sugar and put 1/2 cup on bottom of crock pot and spread rest on ham. Ham dark on bottom due to dark colours caused by cloves and maple syrup so I cut down time to 6 hours but while not overdone it could have been 1-2 hours less. Put a few slices on the griddle next morning and wonderful scent permeated the house once again. This definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
When I went to make this in my crock pot I found that my crock was to small(4 quarts). I put it in my electric frying pan with the lid on & on low heat setting, thinking it would be ok. We went out for a short while & came back to the burning ham, I salvaged as much of the ham as I could & took it to our church's potluck dinner(I was little upset at this time but took it anyway) that night, to my surprize it was liked, especially from one gentleman! AND at the time I cooked this I was cooking in my basement because our kitchen was being renovated, the frying pan & crock were on the floor being used for our meals :) That certain gentleman has been asking me to make that ham again, I don't know if I'll be able to match the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I was a little worried about all the liquid but it worked. I condensed some on the stove with cornstarch to make a sauce. Based on other reviews, I cut back on the spices...10 cloves and half of everything else. We did have a much smaller, three pound, ham. It wasn't too spicy at all and next time I'll add a bit more. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Not really a fan. I'll try it again without the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've made this two Easters in a row and have NEVER had ham this good. I even cooked it in the slow cooker on high a bit longer and it didnt dry out. I didnt change the recipe one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichellekay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I don't have a review, but a question...what size slowcooker do I need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I am going to be one of those irritating people that change a recipe so much that it is dumb! But what I actually did is took a precooked ham, sliced it 90%, so it was still standing together. Put it in crockpot. Poured maple syrup between each slice. Then poured a 16 ounce bottle of GingerAle over it. Cooked it on high for 4-5 hours. It was fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Grether

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I have not tried this recipe. I read the reviews and some people say theirs turned out dry and ham was falling apart. The recipe calls for Bone-in country ham. Now, does that mean the country ham that's salty? Not a precooked ham? Maybe I should go to recipe exchange and ask.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Tender and delicious. Was able to make ham soup with leftovers plus a couple ham sandwitches. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Saved me a lot of time and it tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States