Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was a really great recipe for ham. I used a precooked Kentucky Legend Smoked Ham and it was very moist w/really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cooked two hams in two crock pots for Thanksgiving yesterday. I used smoked spiral-cut hams. The results were delicious. Since these hams were fully cooked they probably didn't need the full 8 hours. The only problem I had was that one crock pot was a new model and one was an old model. The ham cooked in the old model was perfect. The one cooked in the new model, which probably cooks hotter than the old pot, was overcooked but still moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I read all the reviews first, I followed some of the tips. I had a 10 lb spiral cut ham. I cooked it for a shorter period of time as suggested in tips. EPIC FAIL! It fell apart in good sized pieces, it was so dry and it basically tasted like salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was a really tasty slow cooker ham. I especially loved that on a Monday, I came home from work and had a great tasting ham to serve due to the wonders of a crock pot. I had my misgiving due to some of the negative reviews stating that it was dry, too much spices, etc. I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I know, I know, it's not fair to judge a recipe if you're changing it, but let's face it we all do it), but next time, out of curiosity I will follow as stated, except for the amount of apple cider which I used only 1 c. and next time will use 1/2. Here's what I did: I used 1/2 to 3/4 of the amount of spices, used only about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg because nutmeg can be overpowering in my opinion. Omitted the maple syrup, orange peel, horseradish, vanilla and the whole cloves. Added about 1 1/2 T dry mustard. I wanted a more traditional spiced ham and it realy came out moist and delicioso. For those who are looking for an oven looking ham where the meat doesn't fall off the bone, than place it in the oven in the traditional manner. But if you want mouth watering easy pleasy ham when you come in the door after a long day's work, or for that matter - enjoy yourself on the weekend instead of slaving in the kitchen, this is the recipe for you. And yes, like most of you, my ham jutted out of the top a bit so I covered it with foil, placed the lid over it, duct taped the lid to the pot and weighed the lid down with a jar. Used a smoked pre-cooked Smithfield picnic shoulder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
THIS WAS MEGALICIOUS!!! I used an uncooked smoked picnic ham. I thought it had too much liquid and my crock pot was not quite large enough so I cut down on cider, and ground cloves to 1-1/2 T. and covered it with foil but still overflowed onto counter. I mixed the spices with the brown sugar and put 1/2 cup on bottom of crock pot and spread rest on ham. Ham dark on bottom due to dark colours caused by cloves and maple syrup so I cut down time to 6 hours but while not overdone it could have been 1-2 hours less. Put a few slices on the griddle next morning and wonderful scent permeated the house once again. This definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
When I went to make this in my crock pot I found that my crock was to small(4 quarts). I put it in my electric frying pan with the lid on & on low heat setting, thinking it would be ok. We went out for a short while & came back to the burning ham, I salvaged as much of the ham as I could & took it to our church's potluck dinner(I was little upset at this time but took it anyway) that night, to my surprize it was liked, especially from one gentleman! AND at the time I cooked this I was cooking in my basement because our kitchen was being renovated, the frying pan & crock were on the floor being used for our meals :) That certain gentleman has been asking me to make that ham again, I don't know if I'll be able to match the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I was a little worried about all the liquid but it worked. I condensed some on the stove with cornstarch to make a sauce. Based on other reviews, I cut back on the spices...10 cloves and half of everything else. We did have a much smaller, three pound, ham. It wasn't too spicy at all and next time I'll add a bit more. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Not really a fan. I'll try it again without the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've made this two Easters in a row and have NEVER had ham this good. I even cooked it in the slow cooker on high a bit longer and it didnt dry out. I didnt change the recipe one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichellekay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I don't have a review, but a question...what size slowcooker do I need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States