Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
PHENOMENAL! I made this tonight and we all said it was like Christmas dinner. I did find that Kentucky brand ham at Target. It was REALLY good. I was skeptical about the vanilla, but it was spot on. It is worth forking over the coin for the real maple syrup too. I didn't have an orange, so I used the zest of two clementines then cut the clementines in half and tossed them in. Cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 4. It was the BEST ham ever. This is the only way we'll eat it from now on. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I tried this recipe for Christmas dinner. I was disappointed in the taste. The cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and clove taste was too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. This was the main course for our Christmas dinner for the whole family...in-laws and all. You will read some bad reviews on here about this recipe. My advice is to truly know your cuts of meat (in this case, ham). All hams are not the same. I used a pre-cooked spiral cut honey ham, and tied it together so the ham would not fray. You may want to avoid smoked hams, as the flavors may not blend well. I slow-cooked for 6 hours and it turned out great. I followed some of the advice here about scaling back on the cloves, as well. I only used 15 whole cloves and 1 tbsp. of ground cloves. But overall, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was delicious and a crowd pleaser! It does smell wonderful. I didn't use the ground cloves and it still turned out great! I used a pre-cooked spiral cut ham and cooked on low for 5-6 hours. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Phenomenal Ham! I have never posted a comment before, but this ham is worthy. I made it for a Christmas party and prayed I didn't have a flop/disaster on my hands! I have already had 3 requests for the recipe. I don't know why it has any bad reviews! Perhaps they used the wrong ham. Don't use a spiral ham! I used a fully coooked bone in 8 lb ham. I couldnt find anything smaller at Wal-mart. I sliced off a small chunk to fit it in the crock. I cooked the chunk the next day in the leftover sauce- great too! I was afraid of all the spices- 2 whole T. of cloves!! But I did use the full amounts. I thickened the sauce slightly with cornstarch & water, but it really doesn't need it. It was even moist without the sauce. I will definitely make this again- it's goin in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvelynInez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used this exact recipe,and it was good, but to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Followed recipe except used apple juice instead of cider and it turned out wonderful - would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
The flavor was good but the ham came out so dry. Maybe I did something wrong because so many people say it was juicy, but I followed the directions exactly. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Excellent! At least that's what my family and all my guests said! Very easy. I used a ham from the meat counter and sectioned it so it fit better in my crock pot. Used less cloves as we're not huge fans of that spice. Also did not add as much cider - 1 cup was plenty as the ham let off a lot of juice. I agree with another reviewer ... save the cooking liquid for other dishes! Just freeze it for later. Thank you for such a nice recipe! UPDATE! This was incredible as leftovers! My family has been asking for ham sandwiches over and over. Wow - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Wow! I made this yesterday with an 8lb fully cooked spiral cut ham. A little bit of the ham stuck out of the cider in the crock pot, so every so often I would open it up and baste that section with the juices. I only cooked for about 3.5 hours on low and then turned the crock pot to warm for the next 3 hours. It came out perfect. The whole ham was so moist and flavorful. My husband absolutely raved about this ham, and my step daughter and her husband really loved it too! I couldn't believe just how tender and moist the ham was and there was flavor all the way to the bone. I didn't use whole or ground cloves, or the ginger because I didn't have them on hand. I did use a sprinkle of allspice, with the nutmeg and the Cinnamon. I used the brown sugar and the maple syrup as specified, but it took a whole jug of apple cider to nearly cover the ham because of the size of my crock pot. I will be making this ham again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonie Morgan Ricks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States