Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I really loved the scent of my house while this ham was cooking...and if you're looking for a great air freshener this is it lol. As for flavour...a little too gingerbread for my taste. Was ok, but won't be repeating....Update: I lied. I repeated this one, and adjusted the seasonings, also switched the liquid to pineapple juice, was great then. I really, really, liked having a crockpot ham, so couldn't give up on this one. Play around till you get the taste you want, but the method is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I seldom knock a recipe (if you can't say something nice..) but this was really a disaster. The ham was so overcooked that it fell off the bone as I removed it from the crock. The meat was dry and had a really weird consistency..sort of leathery, and a strange color. Two tbsp. of ground cloves seemed excessive to me so I used less. Thank God I did because the taste of cloves was overpowering, even with the lesser amount. This was not a cheap recipe to make, between the ham, the cider and the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Pappalardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Tried this for our Christmas Brunch yesterday. I would never recommend putting a spiral cut ham into a slow cooker for 8-10 hours! The ham was very tasty but fell apart and the presentation was awful! I would only place a fully cooked ham in a slow cooker to heat through! I was so happy that our guests were our best friends so I was not too embarrassed!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe using a spiral pre-cooked ham and it only needed 4 hours on high. I did have to rotate the ham halfway through since it was too big for the slow cooker and I wanted to make sure both sides were absorbing the apple cider mixture. I didn't use any cloves but added pineapple juice and brown sugar to the top of the ham during the cooking process. Very easy to make. I have given the recipe to mys sister who will be making it for Christmas dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Wonderful recipe, I followed it exactly and have never been disappointed. My family can't keep their hands off it so any leftovers don't last long at all. To the reviewer who mentioned that she is going to cut down on the vinegar the next time she makes this..... Reread the recipe, there is NO vinegar. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It smelled amazing and tasted pretty good too, but I will make some modifications next time I make it. The cloves were a touch overpowering and sometimes there was just too much spice. I also think it got a little overcooked, but I was juggling a dinner for 8 that also included a turkey with only 1 oven and a stove that only half worked while attending classes and working, so I was a bit distracted. Worth another try, but modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I tried this recipe and found the cider vinegar to be overpowering. Not a keeper in our home... I would love to try again without the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was hands down a disaster! I followed the directions exactly and it was overly sweet and had a jerky texture, just as another reviewer had stated. Everyone that took it left it on their plates. I ended up eating a few pieces but it pretty much went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
My family didn't like this ham. Way to many spices, covers up the delicious ham flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this ham for my fiirst easter gathering for my family and it was a huge success! Everyone enjoyed it! It is so simple yet delicious. I didnt make any changes to it at all and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States