Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for easter and was VERY disapointed. I made EXACTLY as directed. The cooking time is WAY TOO LONG and my ham was mush after about 5 hours set on low. Will not ever make again. It sounded like such a good recipe but turned out so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This ham is by far the best ham I've ever had. I made it today (Easter Sunday). It was juicy, tender and just delicious! In fact it was falling off of the bone before I could carve it. I followed the recipe exactly except I made one change...I used orange juice instead of apple cider (didn't have any) and it was fantastic! I have to wonder why other reviewers rated this recipe so poorly. Maybe the cut of meat? I don't know, but I used a butt. Maybe there's more fat to it...not sure. But it truly was the best ham we've ever had. My husband, 3-year-old and 4-year-old all agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Amazing :) Love it :) but i did make changes - only to adjust to my personal tastes - I cut the cloves wayyyy down (dont care for 'em) I used no sugar added apple juice and lite maple syrup. The whole family loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Too sweet! Too many cloves. If cooked for 8 hours you are going to have a ham that just falls apart. A fully cooked ham, needs just to be heated, not cooked. There is way too much liquid. The ham doesn't "bake" it stews instead. A soup results. A very sweet soup at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Spice combination was overwhelming and completely masked the ham flavor. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe at all. I followed the directions to the T....the ham was dry and did not smell good while cooking, which shocked me because i would have thought it would smell good with the spices and cider. it had an okay flavor...nothing to rave about. i would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
No, no, no. We didn't care for this recipe at all. Followed the directions exactly except cut down a bit on the cooking time. Watery, tasteless, dry. The excess spices kill any taste of the ham. I don't recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made w/ apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider but it was REALLY YUMMY and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I was nervous about this recipe as I'm very new to cooking but it turned out amazing! I used apple juice instead of cider and left out the cloves and ginger as I'm not a fan and didn't have on hand. I did everything else as state. The flavour was subtle and really nice! I used a smaller precooked smoked ham and cooked on high for about 4.5 hours. Both me and my picky boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Never had a better ham! Was loved by my entire family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States