Easy Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I only put one star since you have to have something. I paid $17.68 for a ham, because so many people rated it so high. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and when I checked on it, it had completely fallen apart. It was a 10lb ham and the only thing I changed was to add more apple cider. This was the worse disaster I have ever had and I have been cooking 54 years. It doesn't even taste like ham. I guess you might like it if you were adverse to ham. Will never try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I was very disappointed. I had never made a ham in the crock pot before but I was expecting it to be very moist and tender. It was very dry. I have to say it was the worst ham I've ever had. I cooked it for Easter but there was a lot left over which is unusual for one of my dinners.I tossed it the next day. It was even too dry to use for beans or casseroles. I followed the recipe exactly and followed the time line for the cooking time.I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it. It's extremely easy and it is very tasty. I think it might have had too strong a taste but I really liked it overall. I think next time I would use less cloves and it would be perfect. After 10 hours it fell off the bone when I took it out. It was so tender. We are still eating it 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used sparkling apple cider and didn't bother measuring the amount I put in since, I don't think it matters. Because the seasoning were so strong, it reminded me of Christmas in my home. I ended up taking the ham out earlier than scheduled because I noticed that it was falling off the bone. I served it for Easter dinner and I got to say it was very sweet. All in all, it is a good ham; however, not one I would make again due to the lack of the "ham" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Velez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Turned out great. I didn't have any cider, so added apple juice and cider spices. Very juicy. I never removed the cloves.. so I surprised some of my guests.. next time I'll take those out before serving. :) I'll make this every time I make ham from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this with a 7lb Dearborn Ham for Easter. It was really good, sweet, and extremely tender..it was falling off the bone. The only thing is I dont think I will make this in the Spring. The flavors are really fall or winter. But, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for easter and was VERY disapointed. I made EXACTLY as directed. The cooking time is WAY TOO LONG and my ham was mush after about 5 hours set on low. Will not ever make again. It sounded like such a good recipe but turned out so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This ham is by far the best ham I've ever had. I made it today (Easter Sunday). It was juicy, tender and just delicious! In fact it was falling off of the bone before I could carve it. I followed the recipe exactly except I made one change...I used orange juice instead of apple cider (didn't have any) and it was fantastic! I have to wonder why other reviewers rated this recipe so poorly. Maybe the cut of meat? I don't know, but I used a butt. Maybe there's more fat to it...not sure. But it truly was the best ham we've ever had. My husband, 3-year-old and 4-year-old all agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Amazing :) Love it :) but i did make changes - only to adjust to my personal tastes - I cut the cloves wayyyy down (dont care for 'em) I used no sugar added apple juice and lite maple syrup. The whole family loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Too sweet! Too many cloves. If cooked for 8 hours you are going to have a ham that just falls apart. A fully cooked ham, needs just to be heated, not cooked. There is way too much liquid. The ham doesn't "bake" it stews instead. A soup results. A very sweet soup at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States