Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have made several times--my teenagers love it. I do make a couple of changes. I add garlic, black pepper, (just a dash) and a couple of tablespoons of Kitchen Bouquet browning sauce. AND a little more salt. Use a heavy beer--no lite stuff-- It REALLY helps the flavor--gives it more depth. After a couple of different cuts of beef, I've found a siroin tip roast to be the best. Also if you let it cool a few minutes before slicing and add back to the juices for a while, it is much more flavorful. I love the buttered rolls with the au jus---melt provolone cheese under the broiler--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1833 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This was amazing. I took a lot of advise from others. I used a chuck roast, Campbell’s Consommé, a can of Campbell’s French Onion Soup, added garlic powder, onion powder, a touch of worcestershire, and only half a can of beer. It took me 5 minutes to throw everything into the cooker. When I came home I sliced it up and put it back into the juice for another hour. I buttered the rolls and added shredded mozzarella cheese and threw them under the broiler until the cheese melted. This was a huge hit. My family loved it. Not at all dry. They can't wait for me to make it again. Trust me when I tell you this was the best/easiest dinner. You've gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Wish I could make it 10 stars!! This recipe tales TIME..to cook, don't rush it! Slice your beef about 1/2 hr before you want to serve it and return it to juice. Wow!!! But wait, the next day take the leftover juice with bits of beef and make French onion soup with it. Serve over the leftover french bread in a bowl with cheese and slip it under the broiler for a minute. The BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
787 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This is SOOOOO YUMMMMY!!!... My husband and I love it!!... I made just a few changes..I sprinkled my roast with some garlic powder and worchestire sauce when I put it in the crockpot.. I also added a can of mushrooms (drained).. When the meat was ready to be sliced I took it out and sliced it very thin and even shredded a few pieces, then put the meat back in the crockpot for 30 more minutes to soak into the juice.. I didnt put butter on our french bread, instead I toasted it with some shredded mozarella on it... The juice is so good and it smelled so good while it was cooking.. While I was slicing the meat my husband was eating it right out of the crockpot!!!...LOL..He has already requested it for next weekend when we have friends coming over.. Kiki (Brampton,On Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I've relied on this recipe so many times before finally getting around to reviewing it. It's that good, and that easy. I always use a chuck roast. Even though it may not slice well, I believe it has superior flavor and is really well suited to slow cooking. It shreds up nicely, and is easy to spoon onto rolls for sandwiches. I use Guiness Draught, tho' I'm sure most any beer would work well, and I also add a few shakes of garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Holy Moly!! Yum!! I added the onion salt as suggested, also added garlic salt and minced garlic to taste,1 tea. worchestershire sauce, and had fesh mushrooms to throw in. I also sliced it thin and put it back in the juice to steep a short time. I put in on the toasted buns with Provalone cheese. This was awesome. I have leftover juices and thin slice beef to use as leftovers. I'll heat, thicken with cornstarch and serve over noodles. My husband will be in heaven again. Thank you for sharing. Pepperocini Beef was also five stars. Don't miss these two recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I tried this recipe as is the first time and found it lacked some definitive quality. The second time I put the meat into the cooker with 1 pkt onion soup mix and 2c. beef broth, and added 1 sprig Rosemary, 1 large garlic clove, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp thyme and 1/4 c. soya sauce. I served this with French Bread Rolls to Die fOR. Raves from all my guests. Perfect with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This recipe is a hit in my house - hubby & kids just love it. Be sure to use the darkest, most syrupy beer you can find (e.g., Guinness) - it really makes a difference in the richness and overall flavor of the au jus. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Made this yesterday for a VERY tasty supper! I Don't own a slow cooker so I used one of my corning ware casserole dishes and put the roast in the oven for 8 hours at 250 degrees. It worked marvelously! Instead of beer I used red wine. (Ancient Coast's Baco Noir, for any of you Canadian reviewers who are looking for an excellent red!) I also added a tbsp of worcestershire, some onion and garlic powder and some thyme. We used hot buttered and oven toasted baguette for the sandwhiches, and broiled some sliced mozarella on top. A true taste sensation, and although frenh dip is not truly authentic french fare, my French Canadian husband gave this 10 stars! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I added 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1 Tablespoon worshesire. 7 hours is perfect for a 4 pound rump roast. Cut meat as thin as possible. Makes plenty of "a jus". My first crock-pot recipe and it is awesome. I highly recommend. Even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States